All we need are velvet walls

A while back I wrote this. I remembered it yesterday as I was doing more of those Silent Tasks. You know, the ones that no one will ever see. I dusted the window sills (isn’t that why we have cats? Apparently they didn’t get the memo) and we have this stair rail…sigh. I hate my stair rail. It says “1967 Las Vegas Bordello” and it’s painted creamy white so every bit of schmutz shows up on it. Mostly I can ignore it, but now that we have the white carpet and 1967 wood panelling and harvest gold appliances gone, the stair rail kind of stands out as “Vintage But Not The Good Kind”.


The walls are not actually orange, more of a dark cinnamon color…

I want it replaced with something really simple and linear. All those swoops and curls are dust magnets and since it’s a 12 foot rise WITH 20 feet of upper level (dare I call it mezzanine? would that be too…pretentious?) railing, there’s a heckalotta metalwork to be cleaned. I suppose we could paint it black. That would require more effort that it’s worth because it’s one solid rail all the way around, welded into place. If it were black it would look like a 1967 Spanish Themed Las Vegas Bordello, which isn’t much of an improvement.

So yesterday, I dusted (no one ever noticed unless they’ve drawn in the dust on the piano then they complain that their artwork is gone), cleaned the stair rail, and dusted/cleaned the windowsills, which I usually forget to do because they’re all behind curtains and I never think of it. It was a day of Underappreciated Chores.

About rootietoot

I do what I can.
This entry was posted in *whinge*, home and hearth. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to All we need are velvet walls

  1. Attila the Mom says:

    Hope this comes through!!

    Love the color on the walls!

  2. Attila the Mom says:

    woot woot!

  3. SuperBee says:

    I sort of like the railing. 🙂 But of course, I’m a sucker for late-Mid-Century design… I rallied to keep this horrendous snot-colored Moroccan tile in the vestibule of our building…

  4. I rather like this railing. Another color that would work with that would be a really pale rose. IDK , that’s just my opinion 🙂

  5. Bella Rum says:

    I almost washed the window above the kitchen yesterday. Almost.

  6. Bella Rum says:

    above the kitchen window

  7. Bella Rum says:

    above the kitchen sink…

    i’ve had nothing to drink. swear.

  8. IndianaMom says:

    I really love the color on the walls. Some people may think I have bad taste, but I really like the rail. When I saw this picture I said “Wow” because of the rail.

Leave a comment