cheese grits

Today’s culinary obsession involves that most delectable of Southern delights: The grit…or, Grits, as one never encounters them in the singular.

Grits are coarse ground hominy (in the case of white grits, the kind one normally finds laying around at the local Piggly-Wiggly) or coarse ground yellow corn, like Polenta only coarser than that. For arguments sake, I will be refering to hominy grits. Hominy…do they sell that north and west of the Mason Dixon like? I don’t know. For those of you in Non-Southern USA realms, hominy is corn that has been dried and then soaked in lye, rinsed well, and served with butter. Kind of a Deep South Vegan Lutefisk. If you can imagine such a thing. It makes great grits.

So, grits, cooked in boiling water with what would seem to be an unreasonable amount of salt and butter, is a fabulous foundation for more complicated savory dishes. Yes, savory. Grits is NOT cream of wheat with sugar on top, or oatmeal with a spoonful of plum jam. One does not sugar one’s grits.It is not to be borne. Don’t go telling me how tasty grits are with butter, milk and brown sugar for you will lose all credibility with me.

Here is a tasty grits recipe. Go to any potluck at the Baptist Church and Miss Lucille will have brought a crock pot full of her famous and tasty cheese grits, and you will fight to be first in line because she never brings enough.

Cheese Grits

3 cups water
1-12 oz can evaporated milk
1 cup long-cooking or 5 minute grits (NOT Instant! Sacrilege!)
1 teaspoon salt
1 teaspoon garlic powder
1/2 teaspoon black pepper
very generous pinch of your favorite red pepper. Use paprika if you don’t want heat, use cayenne if you do, or both for a richer flavor.
Bring the water and milk to a boil and sloooooowwwwwly stir in the grits. Add the spices. Turn the heat down to simmer and put the lid on it. Let cook 15 minutes, stirring often. I use a whisk to stir, as it tends to lump. Do not fear the lump, just use a whisk. If it starts to get too thick, add a dab of water, about 1/4 cup at a time, until it’s not so thick but not runny either. You need to scoop it with a spoon, but not so thick the spoon stands up in it.

Now, once it’s cooked,
Add:
a very generous handful of sharp cheddar cheese (or, if you like, 5 slices of American cheese, or a 3 inch slab of Velveeta. Each method has it’s merits)
several shots of your favorite hot sauce. I like tabasco and tabasco green.
Stir well so the cheese melts. Serve with salt (it’s hard to salt grits too much) and a bottle of hot sauce.

About rootietoot

I do what I can.
This entry was posted in food. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to cheese grits

  1. “Do not fear the lump…”

    Can I say that about my thighs, too?

    You know, I’ve never went looking for hominy grits in my local market…I may just have to, now. Sounds yummy!!

  2. Anna says:

    Why can’t I get grits here in the UK?

    WHY?????

  3. Bro. Scott says:

    Here in NoFlo a proper fried fish/scallops/shellfish dinner is served with coleslaw, hush puppies and cheese grits. At first I thought it odd … but now I won’t have it any other way. Yummm.

  4. rootietoot says:

    Oh Yes, in South Ga/Al, its fried catfish and cheese grits. There’s this outfit in Monroeville, Alabama called David’s Catfish that is the Gold Standard for fried catfish and cheese grits. It’s there I received the revelation for putting evaporated milk in them.

    Anna- Probably for the same reason we don’t have bangers and mushy peas here.

    NG, if you can’t find grits you just let me know and I’ll send you a bag.

  5. Anna says:

    Well I’m with you on the mushy peas. Yuk. Fresh peas = awesome. Dried peas get all starchy and lose that wonderful colour and sweetness and texture that makes fresh peas so good. Don’t blame you guys for not having them! That said, I’m probably the only Brit who won’t eat the horrible mush – it’s practically mandatory with battered fish and chips or pie and gravy.

    Do you not have proper sausages???

    I do have 3/4 of a bag of quick-cook grits in the cupboard, sent to me by a friend in Georgia (along with Jiffy corn muffin mix and biscuit mix). So far I’ve only boiled them and added butter and cheese. They taste okay, but a little, er, thin I guess, if that makes sense. Like they’re missing something – maybe evaporated milk is the way to go, that would certainly make them richer. Might give it a try this weekend.

  6. rootietoot says:

    Anna- when you cook your grits, use a generous bit of salt, and cook them at a very low temp for longer than it requires. Plenty of pepper as well, black and red. They are, by themselves, astonishingly bland, but they are a fantastic carrier for flavors. Sharp sharp cheese, too. A super sharp cheddar is perfect.

  7. rootietoot says:

    About the sausages- my husband travels to the UK with his work, and says nothing here is quite like the sausages there. Different blend of seasonings, he says. But then he likes blood sausages so…well..

  8. Seraph says:

    We North Carolinians sugar our grits. At least a lot of us do, as does my North Georgian daddy. But only at home, salt and peppering grits is easier when we eat out.

    But cheese grits are lovely too. I’ve never seen them at a church potluck though…probably because we eat them with sugar here, for breakfast.

    And as far as the “hominy” in hominy grits go, I had to explain that hominy is corn soaked in lye a while ago, and I think the person I was explaining to will never eat grits again. :-\

Leave a comment