Here’s what I think…

(somewhat political statement ahead. Since this is my personal platform, I’m going to say what I think and while I recognize your right to do the same, you don’t get to tell me I’m wrong. Get your own blog if you want to do that.)

I don’t write politics. I just don’t. In general Politics (the ones with the capital P, instead of the lower case one) don’t affect me much. I tend to ignore them mostly, except for maybe an occasional *tsk* and eyeroll when some federal-level politician gets caught sender wiener photos to an unpaid intern. What was he thinking? Apparently his parents didn’t say anything when they found the Penthouse magazines under his mattress when he was a teen. Or maybe it isn’t their fault at all, and he’s just too full of himself to think he’d get caught.

Anyway, this time around, I’m still hunkering into my own personal space and pretty much wondering how the Politics will affect me. Probably some, maybe a lot. While I wasn’t a big fan of the last administration (frankly, I haven’t been a fan of any administration that I can recall. They’ve all had their shortcomings), I was (and still am, for as long as it will last) grateful for the ACA (Obamacare), and concerned about what’s going to happen with it and how it will be replaced. I’m not the only one there. This is a thing that will directly affect me. However, like everything else, I’m going to see what happens before I get spooled up about it.

I have that luxury. I’m not a school teacher who will be affected by whoever the new Education Secretary will be. Nor am I really anything else that will be affected directly, unless there is a Department of Widows and Retirees. Will I lose my Pell grant, that’s paying most of my tuition? If I do, I’ll find something else to do. I am, to be honest, in a Very Good Place and have the privilege of not worrying too much.

(Here’s where I get Religious and Philosophical)

I think, since God is the one who puts our leaders in place:

“It is He who changes the times and the epochs; He removes kings and establishes kings; He gives wisdom to wise men And knowledge to men of understanding.” (Daniel 2:21)

“With my great power and outstretched arm I made the earth and its people and the animals that are on it, and I give it to anyone I please.” (Jeremiah 27:5)

“Let everyone be subject to the governing authorities, for there is no authority except that which God has established. The authorities that exist have been established by God.” (Romans 13:1)

and God will give us the leaders we deserve:  Judges 8:33-9:21 (It’s long but appropriate),

I think it behooves us to recognize that, as a nation, we have the president we deserve because God put him there. Whether or not I approve or disapprove is moot. I also think that we have every right to protest, to argue and complain, to write our congresspersons, to do what we see fit to attempt change where it’s needed. I’m not real sure how much that will affect the decisions being made, but it will surely affect them more than if we do nothing. I am grateful to live in a place where such goings-on are legal, and I hope you are as well.

But I do surely wonder what the next 4 years hold.  I do not, however, wonder why we get the leader we deserve. Because I think that much is obvious, no matter what your political leanings say.

 

 

About rootietoot

I do what I can.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Here’s what I think…

  1. Patricia says:

    “God” put him (President) there? I think it’s the voters. I believe God gave humans free will.

  2. jerseechik says:

    (I think this space is where I get to tell you when I think you’re wrong.) I think you’re right about God putting individuals in positions of authority, and calling His people to respect rulers (He calls us to respect everyone, actually.) (and pray for them).

    I wouldn’t phrase it that ‘we get the leader we deserve’, though. That sounds to me like sometimes God is punishing us through our leaders, and rewarding us through other leaders. Like we did some work or actions that caused Him to react and pay us in people.

    I would say He gives us the leaders we need- but ‘need’ using a different definition than most people’s. So often we think we need prosperity, or agreed opinions, or less chaos, and what God says we need is to be made into the image of Christ. He uses our authorities (and everything else) to do that.

    One of the things I think is wonderful about God is that He changes people. He could change my husband. He could change my kiddos. He can change the person in authority, at every level. He can change me.

    • rootietoot says:

      Yes, God gives us the leaders we need-and what He thinks we need can be very different from what we think we need. I also think we get the leaders we deserve, because many times Israel got the leaders they deserved, particularly when they were behaving badly.

    • rootietoot says:

      and ok yeah, you can tell where I’m wrong, but that’s because you’re Special.

Leave a Reply

