Bits and pieces

I’ma use bullet points because they’re fun.

  • I have a new website:  Rootie Gets A New House. It’s the fun, bureaucracy, and paperwork of building a new house in a different state. Ok, so Dad is dealing with most of it and I’m just listening to the weekly update. But I get to do the fun part.
  • School is going well. Straight A’s even though I constantly argue with the instructors. you can do that when you’re older than they are. It’s a Southern Thing
  • Tonight I am cooking many slabs of beef ribs. They were on sale. I ran home during a break between classes and coated them in a rub (essentially the stuff you’d season chili with, only with the addition of brown sugar to make it stick) My local people are coming over to help eat them. Also: taters from the garden converted into tater salad.
  • It’s windy today. That’s unusual for this time of year. It is lovely and keeping things below 100F and the humidity seems low (er) as well. Maybe 50% instead of the more typical 75%
  • I am gradually clearing out the Stuff. The detritus of 28 years of marriage, all those thing bought for a reason then no longer used and stuffed into the attic. Much of it was taken to a school rummage sale (proceeds to benefit an upcoming trip). I’m not sure what sold and what wound up donated to the Habitat for Humanity ReStore. Chances are, that’s where I would’ve taken it anyway. The house that’s being built is half the size of the one I’m in now, so shedding stuff is more than just an exercise in decision making, it’s kind of critical.
  • I was warned that the 2nd Year of Widowhood would be difficult, possibly even more so that the 1st one. It’s not. Not really. It’s just that the difficulties are quite different that the first year’s. I’m becoming accustomed to being an I instead of a We. However, being an I, when one is used to being a We, is proving to be kind of lonely. Friends have helped, but they aren’t hugging me at 7am, and I kind of miss that.  School is helping, it’s heckalotta fun and keeps me busy.
  • I’m doing preliminary job searches in the town to which I’ll be moving, and they seem to be encouraging. Plenty of the sort I am educating for. Instructors have been giving me advice on getting that all important and required Year of Experience.Thus, it’s likely I’ll be signing up for a work-study program. It is, after all, actual work experience. They have been wonderfully helpful, those instructors. I may find a way to keep in school just for the fun of it.
  • My kids are all doing very well in their own ways. I’m proud of them for being who they are. So different from each other, and going their own ways. It’s really fun to see them growing up and being Real Adults.
About rootietoot

I do what I can.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Bits and pieces

  1. Bless your heart! I think you are doing rather well for your second year of widowhood. One day at a time, giving it your best shot.

    Love & hugs ~ FlowerLady

    • rootietoot says:

      Thank you, FL! I think, for the most part, I’m doing ok. Sometimes, tho, the Lonely is pretty large. But then, it makes sense that it is so I don’t fight it.

  2. Juli Thompson says:

    I’ve added your new site to my RSS feed. I hope I can see you when we’re in town.

  3. Pheenobarbidoll says:

    Goodness..I don’t even know what to say. It’s been awhile since I read your blog and all I can say is a lame I’m so sorry. I finally remembered the ” it really is personal” descriptive bit ( new computer, new tablet, yadda yadda no recall of what blogs I had bookmarked) but it hit me today, as I lie here in bed nursing a migraine. I went back and read the older posts and…just heartbroken for your pain. But also happy you’ve done so well in your new normal. And new house excitement…plus all that comes with it that isn’t so exciting. Anyway, I just wanted you to know that there’s someone in texas rooting for you. New normal, new schooling, new house….you got this. I’d take that to the bank.

    • rootietoot says:

      Oooh I’m so happy to see you! I’m doing fine, relatively speaking. Life does what it’s going to do and we have precious little control over it, so rolling with it is all I know to do. Sorry about the migraine (three time I had to retype that, iPad kept aitocorrecting it to “organize”..kinda Freudian in my case…), I hope you’re feeling better!

      • Pheenobarbidoll says:

        I’m pretty certain autocorrect exists to tempt me into smashing my devices and living as an unplugged heathen in the middle of nowhere. Then, I remember Downton Abbey is on my tablet and it lives to see another day.

        I don’t know if I ever mentioned that my first husband died. We weren’t married long, so my new normal sort of just slid back into a before married normal. I was too young, I think, for there to be any other way than just going back to what I knew, so I am awed by your ability to plod into/ ease into / fight into/ roll into any new normal after so many years. I’ve always been a creature of habit, most comfortable in my routines and resistant to change ,so anyone’s ability to roll with change impresses me. I have to talk myself into the tub, then talk myself out of it because change is awfully inconvenient. I do, however, love the change that comes with each season, so figure that one out if you ever take a psych class lol

        I’m happy for you, happy that you’re doing well given all that life recently kicked at you. We don’t have much of a choice, but if it’s going to happen, might as well roll up your sleeves and work with it. Your boys sound like they’re turning out pretty darn good, too. Which also makes me happy for you.

        I have you rebookmarked ( take THAT, autocorrect ) so unless you shoo me away, I won’t be a stranger.

Leave a Reply

