The Most Perfect Baby Ever And That’s Not Exaggerating.

My first grandbaby was born a couple of days ago! He is called Burrito, or Jellybean, or whatever comes to mind at the moment. He looks like the love child of a Cabbage Patch Kid and a peach, and surely a more adorable baby was never born.

IMG_20150625_123237743

See?  

See?

Image result for peach

Amirite? Yes I am.

It is a bittersweet thing, really. I am so incredibly proud of #3 and The Wife, they are doing amazingly well. He is nervous at a cat with 5 tails in a door factory, and she is as calm as it gets. Himself isn’t here, not in person anyway. Everyone keeps telling me he is here is spirit, and I understand they are trying to comfort me and all. He isn’t here in the flesh, though. I am not bickering with him about who gets to hold the Burrito, or which family he favors the most. Burrito has Himself’s family chin, for sure, and The Wife’s round face and beautiful complexion. He also has one ear that looks like her family’s, and one like Himself’s, and my family’s unfortunate duck-like flat feet. Maybe he’ll grow out of those. The 2 different ears is kind of funny. They aren’t strange and drastically different, but one is shaped different from the other, and slightly larger.  Of course, all that said he will end up looking like his own little self, and that’s just fine.

I cried off and on during the drive up here, alternating between angry at Himself for not being here, and missing him terribly during this oh so precious event.  It was kind of hard to keep it reined in while #3 was pacing around and worrying, but I managed ok. The last thing he needed while his wife was working so hard, was to worry about his mother’s dewicate feewings.  But good lord, I missed Himself.

They came home from the hospital yesterday, and got nicely settled in. #3 returned to work today, and I have been on call for The Wife.  There is a delicate balance between being available and pushy. I don’t want to be one of those mothers-in-law who shoves into their life and tells them everything they’re doing wrong, nor do I want to be so detached that they feel like they’re an inconvenience if they need me for something.  Since my home is 4 hours away, it will be hard to be much involved at all, but plans have been made to be here (I am here right now, not at home) monthly. Her family lives here, so they will be better able to help for now.

Anyway, I have a new title to go along with Mom and The Widow Toot How Tragic.  Grandma! (Or whatever he winds up calling me as long as it isn’t Meemee or Mamaw or Meemaw or NeeNee or Nana. One of the Great grands is a Meemaw and the other Grand is a Neenee). I like the way it feels.

Mom said a few days ago that she was perfectly fine with being a great-grandmother, but the idea that I, her daughter, is a grandmother wasn’t really setting too well.

Anyway, Himself is badly missed right now.

About rootietoot

I do what I can.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to The Most Perfect Baby Ever And That’s Not Exaggerating.

  1. Judy says:

    He truly is the most delicious looking Peach Burrito I have ever seen!!! Just want to kiss him all over his face and neck. He is wonderful and will continue to be wonderful for you.

  2. Have the T-shirt says:

    What a cutie! His mouth really does look like a Cabbage Patch Doll’s!

    Another new chapter in your life 🙂

  3. Anne Niemi says:

    So adorable. Just think of all the baby things you can sew for him!! And then have another reason to go hold/hug/kiss him!! Congratulations!

  4. Bella Rum says:

    How wonderful. He is adorable and very kissable.

  5. Wife Goes On says:

    So adorable!

Leave a Reply

