It is what it is…

Phillipians 4:4-7

Rejoice in the Lord always. I will say it again: Rejoice! Let your gentleness be evident to all. The Lord is near. Do not be anxious about anything, but in every situation, by prayer and petition, with thanksgiving, present your requests to God. And the peace of God, which transcends all understanding, will guard your hearts and your minds in Christ Jesus.

Dear Lord, please burn this on the inside of my eyelids so I will see it every time I blink. Keep me calm, remind me over and over that You have this, You won’t let me fall, nothing is a setback to You. Your plan is good. Keep this in my brain all the time because right now my hands are cold and I am kind of fearful and angry and wondering What Am I Going To Do?!

I had a doctor’s appointment today, nothing major, just a check up, and discovered that our health insurance was cancelled on February 26, 2 days after Himself died, the day of his memorial service.

The hell you say…

No, I am not panicking but I am really angry because I was never told. Maybe they were trying to protect me from One More Thing, but if I’d known I could have been looking for replacement coverage of some sort. Instead I am left to blithely carry on, assuming I had coverage.

The package for COBRA coverage came in the mail…it will cost over $1000 a month to keep our current insurance. I mean, I get that, really I do. Himself is no longer employed there and they are under no obligation to insure us, but….wouldn’t it be really kind to at least maybe give a month’s grace on coverage? To give me time to at least find something? Nope, it’s business and business is business and there’s no room for grace or kindness or whatever.

Kinda makes me wonder what the next load of bricks on my head will be…My mind is making up all sorts of scenarios. “Oh, not employed long enough to get life insurance” and “not vested in the retirement plan” …whatever.

I’m not looking for sympathy, really I’m not. I am putting it down here so I don’t have to carry it in my head. I am hoping maybe someone will read it and go “Oh…I better make a plan for that Just in Case” Or maybe someone will read it and say “Yeah, that happened to me, here’s what to do.” That would be really nice.

God’s got this. I’ll be fine. We all will be fine. It’s just a…I don’t know…small setback, sprinkles on the cupcake of my life right now.

A friend gave me this small sign that says “It is what it is”, and it is.

I see an attorney in about an hour, he’ll know at least which direction to point my feet.

Ok, Cloud of Witnesses, I could use some cheering now, and maybe even some guidance.

About rootietoot

I do what I can.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to It is what it is…

  1. jerseechik says:

    I’m so thankful nothing hospital-worthy happened before you found out, and that you already have the attorney visit planned. On the other hand, though, if you’ll get me the number for Human Resources, I will break out the can of WA- they really deserve it.

  2. Beth says:

    You can do this, Peggy! Insurance companies don’t really compute “grace”, do they?! I’m praying for you and am in your cheering section, dear friend!

  3. Judy says:

    I don’t know. I had my own separate health insurance–Fred has his. Call Blue Cross or whatever healthy insurance is big in your area. You need insurance, on #4 too. COBRA is a big joke!!

Leave a Reply

