More New Normal

One of my Sunday afternoon tasks is to make out the menus and grocery list for the next week or two. Typically it involves asking Himself and #4 what they would like to eat. Now it’s up to Me and #4. A lot less food, too. When I make a meal, it would include enough to package up for Himself and #4 to take for lunch later in the week. Now, it’s a solid 2 large servings less. Possibly even less than that as often #4 would like a sandwich.

I had just learned how to cook for the 3 of us since Brothers moved out! In less than a year, I have gone from cooking for 5 large eaters to cooking for 2, with one not eating much at all. Talk about having to make a change. Wow.

#4 informed me that he kind of prefers a lot more vegetables as well, which is nice, because they are a lot less expensive than meat. Over the years I have expanded the culinary repertoire to include a bunch of South Asian stuff, which uses meat more like a condiment than a main course. It is a little bit exciting to know I will be able to cook the way I have always wanted to, but didn’t because Himself was such a meat and potatoes kind of person.

I honestly don’t care if I never cook another meatloaf in my entire life. Or beef tips and mashed potatoes. Or chicken fried steak.

I queried #4 about his chicken preference, light or dark meat, and like me, he prefers the dark. Perfect! I can get those super cheap leg quarters and we will both be happy!

Every time I write something about a change like this, that I am happy about, it feels like I am being disloyal to Himself. I think it should go without saying that I would much rather have Himself here and make meatloaf, than be without him and have lettuce wraps.

However, it is in my nature to look for the best in a bad situation, and that is what I am doing.

what is still there, a constant reminder of everything that has happened over the past 12 days and 21 hours, is that knot in the pit of my stomach. Like a strange thing put there, a reminder that All Is Not As It Was. However, there is also the constant presence of the Holy Spirit, a comforting thing that tells me All Will Be Well, even through the unexpected moments of intense sorrow, the insta-tears that come right after a thought of “oh, I need to tell Himself about this!”.  I hear it gets better.

About rootietoot

I do what I can.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to More New Normal

  1. Judy says:

    I had no appetite because of that knot in my stomach and the lump in my throat. It’s hard enough to cook for just two, but just for one? Impossible. Along the way, in six months I had lost 30 pounds, which I kind of needed to do. I so wished my Fred could see me all glamorous again–I had gained the weight living a happy life with him. Now the doc tells me I am in better physical health than I have been in years. Who cares–right?

Leave a Reply

