I confess to some frivolity induced giddiness.

Agnes McCalvinox has been banished to the basement. Or attic. Or wherever it is you banish disapproving and judgmental inner voices.

Agnes disapproves.

Agnes disapproves.

I am preparing for some frivolous activities. For some non-productive relaxation of the sort many people think is dumb but only because they’ve never done it.  Well, except that one young lady sitting next to Terry at the race in Atlanta who was so bored I thought her teeth were going to fall asleep. How do you read Kant while 43 cars roar past you at 190 miles per hour?  I am sure she was faking it but I felt sorry for her boyfriend who wanted badly to enjoy himself but obviously feared her palpable disapproval. They were there with someone who appeared to be the young man’s father (looked just like him but 30 years older and 100 pounds heavier). I wondered if it was a test by the father, something to see what the young lady was made of (apparently starch and goats milk lentil loaf. She drank her Coors with distaste and more disapproval. Bless her heart.) I also hope that the young man allowed her to take him to a jazz club/poetry reading.  Fair’s fair, after all.

Anyway, all I’ve got to say (well not ALL, obviously…but about this particular topic above) is “Don’t knock it ’til you’ve tried it.”  Oh sure, I know the arguments. “How exciting can watching 43 cars go in circles possibly be?” Well if that’s all it were I would agree. But it’s more than that and you have to kind of follow it.

There’s Plot Lines akin to pro-wrestling, with feuds and arguments and this guy helping that guy because the other guy pissed them both off. Occasionally Tony Stewart will throw his helmet at a car, or Jeff Gordon and Clint Bower will indulge in gentleman-like fisticuffs.

There’s strategy like a chess game, with teams and this team guy is close enough to the lead in points that the other team guy (who is nowhere near close enough) will do things to help the first guy out, like cutting drivers off or “accidentally* (it’s always accidental doncha know) bump someone from another team into the wall…unless it’s Joey Logano whom NO ONE likes because he caused Denny Hamlin (whom EVERYONE likes) to crash and suffer a broken vertebra thus possibly be out the rest of the season, so Mr Logano (who’s a young punk who needs to learn some manners anyway) keeps getting crashed…

See?  There’s a lot more to it than driving in circles.

And it’s all about timing. When to pit for gas and a tire change…

/aside Speaking of tire changes….WHY can a pit crew change 4 tires in 15 seconds, and it takes 3 hours at Neville’s? If I wanted to, I’d open a tire store and staff it with former NASCAR pit crew people, and advertise 15 minute tire changes. (I know, I know…pit crews don’t have to deal with taking old tires off rims and putting new ones on the same rims…but I’ve seen that done and a good tire person can change out a tire on a rim in 3 minutes.) /end aside

Where was I…strategy. it’s there. Not only is it there, if you understand that it’s there and all happening at 190 miles per hour with 43 cars packed into a small space, and not just 190 mph but at about 130 decibles (to compare, a jet engine is about 120 db) (don’t believe me? check out the link from the CDC  National Institute for Occupational Safety and Health), it’s quite a rush. We ALWAYS wear industrial ear protection.

But…but…what about the FANS?? All those uneducated sweaty-armpit beer swilling toothless rednecks?? Oh. You mean the ones who anonymously hand a beer over your shoulder when they hear you say “oh shoot the cooler’s empty.”? Or the ones who open a bag of peanuts and pass it down the row, even though they don’t know anyone? How about the ones who are wearing t-shirts that say “F**k YOU! I’m from Nebraska!” and invite you to their truck where they’re grilling burgers and have more than they need? All I got in the luxury box at the football game was ignored.

Here’s what a (former) Formula 1 afficianado, Richard Hammond from Top Gear, has to say about it all.

Also, the crashes are Quite Dramatic…The speed shown on the video is slowed down significantly. They are a LOT faster than this.

ok that’s enough for now. I will be back probably Tuesday or Wednesday with photos and more gushing about how wonderful it is.

Also? Oh y’all…PIT PASSES

About rootietoot

I do what I can.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to I confess to some frivolity induced giddiness.

  1. Renee says:

    My son has watched these races for years. His basement/bar/entertainment area is decorated to the max with Jeff Gordon paraphernalia to the point that you’d be hard pressed to name an item he doesn’t have sporting the JG name. I confess I don’t “get it” at all. It’s a huge waste of money, and I fear my grandchildren will never see a college fund, so I hope they learn to drive real fast so that someone else’s child can buy their memorabilia. Then maybe they can get that money back in a big round-a-bout racetrack shaped sort of way. In the meantime, I truly do wish you the best time ever!

  2. Bella Rum says:

    I just read this to my husband and he is so envious. Glad you’re having a good time. Denny Hamlin is our hometown boy. Enjoy, and have another beer.

  3. Elizabeth says:

    Paul thanks you for the Top Gear clip.

Leave a Reply

