Did I mention PIT PASSES?

We have a Big Weekend coming up.  The race is in Talladega, about an hour from my parent’s, and also  on the same weekend as MY BIRTHDAY. AND we have TICKETS to the race and also PIT PASSES. Did I mention that IT’S MY BIRTHDAY. and we have PIT PASSES. Did I mention that? I did? Ok.

Anyway, this big weekend coming up (TALLADEGA! PIT PASSES!) and of course…I’m coming down with a cold. This Is Not Acceptable. Normally I’d be all “oh welll, it’s an excuse to not do the floors and to watch movies all weekend” but not this time. I am fighting this tooth, nail, gin, and Zicam and seem to be…if not winning…the cold isn’t winning either.  Y’all, that’s the remedy. Gin and Zicam. As soon as that first weird tickle, drip and headache try to manifest (it helps that #4 has a cold we thought was allergies but ended up not being due to it’s apparent contagion) I start downing the Zicam,and sipping the gin. Gin is the only thing that the Zicam doesn’t make taste weird. Himself opines that gin already tastes like paint thinner so Zicam could only improve it. I suppose that is rational.  My theory (supported by my father the veterinarian) is that if your blood alcohol is high enough, the virus gets fried out of your system entirely. It makes sense to me.

martini-5

Now, I am not saying go get plastered irresponsibly and use disease as an excuse to do so.  I am pretty sure any police officer or judge who queries your decision would not accept it as a reasonable excuse. I also want to clarify that this remedy is ONLY employed when there is another responsible adult in the house, because I do not believe is driving under the influence of alcohol under ANY circumstance.  I have seen firsthand the results of driving while drunk, and anyone who does it deserves the most serious consequences possible.

When a person is driving drunk (or under the influence of any other sort of relaxing/mind altering substance), they are very, very relaxed. If/when they collide with another vehicle, they continue to be relaxed. Consequently, rather than tensing up and getting injured in the wreck, they tend to just flop around. This is why the injuries in a DUI accident happen to the people being hit, and not to the intoxicated person.  It’s not fair, but there it is. Thus, driving drunk/high…is not just stupid and reckless, you are going to likely be fine, but seriously hurt or kill someone who is just going out for a pizza or coming home from work and wants to see their family and watch a movie.  So don’t be an asshole and drive intoxicated.

I didn’t intend to go into a lecture, but it is something I feel strongly about.

Anyway…where was I? Did I mention that my birthday is this weekend and we have tickets to Talladega?? AND PIT PASSES? I did? ok, sorry. I’m a little excited about it. The pit passes were completely unexpected and the idea of being able to get up close and personal to a real genuine stock car is a little heady. I want my picture made with Mark Martin’s car, if possible.

Bank of America 500 - Practice

An autograph on my hat would be an unexpected and pleasant but unnecessary bonus. Word is that Dale Jr and Brad Keslowski (that punk) will be available for the fans, and I am not interested. especially since Dale Jr is doing that Wrangler ad that essentially says he needs Wranglers because his Package is too big for Levi’s. what ev er!  And Brad Keslowski is a punk. I’d get a Jeff Gordon autograph for #4’s friend, if I could.  He’d fall over.  And Jimmy Johnson, because he’s winning a lot these days and is a really nice guy. Also Kasey Kahne because his eyes are almost as purty as Himself’s.  Anyway…whatever.  Going to a NASCAR race allows me to put on the Redneck hat for a while. I can set aside the ladylike chicken-salad eating demeanor and drink beer and eat hotdogs and peanuts and all that…for an afternoon. It’s fun.

queen

And…I am going to do EVERYTHING I can to kick this incipient cold in it’s tiny viral butt because its my BIRTHDAY (did I mention that?) and we have PIT PASSES (I think I mentioned that). and I am not going to let some creature that can only be seen by an electron microscope screw with my weekend!

Also? This is the best part. I get to go with Himself, AND 2 of the boys. Because the other 2 would rather have root canals than be seen at a NASCAR race. They don’t know what they’re missing.

About rootietoot

I do what I can.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Did I mention PIT PASSES?

  1. Nichole says:

    I hope it’s super-awesome! Go away, cold!

  2. Bella Rum says:

    Happy, happy birthday, Rootie. I hope the cold recedes and you have a blast. My husband will be jealous. Dad’s man is Jeff Gordon but he likes Jimmy Johnson a lot. I jumped over to check out the commercial on youtube. The camera does linger in certain areas.

  3. Jo says:

    Happy Birthday (in advance)! Hope it’s a great time. My go-to cold remedy is Cold-FX, but I don’t think it’s distributed in the States. But gin sounds like more fun anyway.

  4. pheenobarbidoll says:

    Happy Birthday (early) and wooooooohooooooo racing!

Leave a Reply

