5am and all is well

I woke up at 4 this morning. No particular reason but something said “get up” even as laying back down seemed like it should be inviting, but wasn’t.  Fresh coffee is extra special at 4 am, especially when there’s a small curly dog snuggled next to you, and a cat who is pretty sure you exist to provide her with a lap.

Last night, Himself gave me a glare and said “May 1st, the air conditioner is coming on.” He was very stern and as I opened my mouth to protest he cut me off and said ‘MAY FIRST”.  Am I the only one (barring Canadians and those nearby) who think May 1st is kind of ridiculous? I know, he’s hot. I see the sweat, hear the grumblings, and was on the receiving end of a lecture from #4 about Pride and Inflexibility Concerning Air Conditioning.  I am accustomed to these arguments ’round about May 20, due to an ingrained belief that A/C before June 1 is Self Indulgent and Ridiculous.

O for an old house with high ceilings and an attic fan. O to live out in the country where there’s pecan trees shading the roof and breezes. O for a family who understands my inflexibility on such matters.  O for some consideration for my husband, who earns the income and deserves to be comfortable in his own house.  Sigh.

old house

So ok fine. I will close the windows, cutting off the honeysuckle scented morning breeze, blocking out the evening song of peepers and martins, cloaking us all in the artificiality of climate control, and be considerate of Himself, who earns the income and deserves to be comfortable in his own home. He spends all day in the confines of a hot textile mill, or walking around in the South Georgia humidity outside. I will do it. yes I will.

But I won’t be very happy about it.

And I will be happy that I am doing what I can to make my husband comfortable in his own home.  Because I love him and he bends over backward to make me happy. I can do this one thing that will make him very happy. And I will be happy about it.

About rootietoot

I do what I can.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to 5am and all is well

  1. Liinda Williams says:

    I feel your pain…errr…I mean BREEZE! I too, am in south GA and have the utter gall to have no allergies. I have every window and storm door open until my sweet man can’t stand it any longer. I think I have a few weeks left, haha!

  2. jerseechik says:

    If you turn on the AC from 1 pm to 7 am M-F, will that cool the house enough for Himself to be comfortable? All day AC when he has the day off at home, of course. (He does have those now, yes?) You could still have scented mornings.

    • rootietoot says:

      He informs me that in order to A/C to be truly effective it has to be on all the time,since it cools down the stuff inside the house, as well as the air. Turning it off means the stuff warms up and it has to work extra hard to cool things down again thus being less efficient. I admit that I would prefer your method, because he likes the thermostat set at “meat locker” where I prefer “just short of sweating” I dislike having to wear a sweater and socks in June. Because I am not always a perfect wife, I am likely to pull some sort of passive-aggressive protest manifested by clothing choices.

  3. pheenobarbidoll says:

    If my house isn’t 68 at night, I would beat to death the person who prevented it in a heat induced rage. When I get too hot, I am damned serious about cooling off. It’s a hill I *will* die on. My husband keeps his hands off the thermostat. This is why he still has hands.

    • rootietoot says:

      see,I am happiest at about 80F and 80% humidity. Anything lower and I’m finding socks and wearing blankets and flannel. Low humidity (even with higher temps) causes coughing and asthma symptoms. During the Winter, when humidity drops to about 30%, I have to keep humidifiers running at 70%,

  4. pheenobarbidoll says:

    Also- he’s sorta right but not completely. The AC has to work harder if you wait until it’s hot to turn it on, but it does not have to be on all day.

    • rootietoot says:

      The humidity here runs about 80% from April until late September. What you say is true if it weren’t for that.

      • pheenobarbidoll says:

        psh humidity. At least it’s water lol

        I’ll have the AC on today, and the heater on tomorrow because of a last minute cold front. Both days will see the windows shut because wind= sand storms. Dusting is my Sisyphus boulder.

      • rootietoot says:

        I despise dusting. We got caught in a sandstorm a while back while visiting in West Texas. It was interesting but not something I’m wanting to repeat.

  5. terry says:

    Around here, it is the humidity as much or more as the heat that makes it work so hard if you leave it off and open the house part of the day then turn it on the other part of the day. Once it goes on it needs to stay on until it drops below 70% humidity, somewhere around 3:00 a.m. on September 14th….

  6. Bella Rum says:

    LOL I used to be exactly like you. I loved having the windows open and that feeling of being part of nature. Now I turn the ac on early and leave it on. I can’t stand the heat. It’s so hot upstairs. H never complains because he says I’m mean when I’m hot. I used to be hot when I was hot…if you know what I mean.

  7. pheenobarbidoll says:

    Ugh, I hate dusting too. I can dust and later that day be able to write my name in the dirt on the table I dusted a few hours earlier. Drives me bonkers, but I can’t ignore the dust either. I sit on the couch and I can see it on the TV stand, and it just grates on a nerve until I’m forced to dust it. 80 is ok if I’ve been indoors all day with the fans on, but after being out in 110 degree heat, plus whatever death oven degree my car is (after branding myself with the seat belt), that AC is coming on. Plus my sinuses are bad enough that I cannot breathe unless it’s cold at night. I get hot, I can’t breathe and I feel like I’m suffocating. It was horrible in Canada because we had a 3 story town home (they don’t count the basement, but I do) and the bedroom was on the top floor, PLUS those people have no AC. So I’d lie awake in bed, sweating and cursing the idiots who live in a country with no AC. I don’t care if you only need it a few weeks out of the year, we’re CIVILIZED damn it, and civilized humans invented climate control for a reason!!

    • rootietoot says:

      For us, it’s pine pollen season. Within an hour, we go from being all just fine to everything coated in thick yellow dust, and it lasts for about 6 weeks. AND it happens right at that time of you when you run neither heat nor A/C, so the whole “climate control” thing doesn’t work. I just leave it alone until they stop blooming, and let everything (even the dogs) turn yellow.

  8. pheenobarbidoll says:

    My nose itches just reading about it.

    Oh! I actually planted 2 rose bushes this weekend! They were on sale at Ace Hardware for 2.99 each so I thought why the hell not, if I kill em at least they weren’t expensive lol

    • rootietoot says:

      YAY! give them plenty of water for the next couple of months until the root systems are good and established. If you haven’t planted them yet, dig the hole 2-3 times bigger than you think you need, that loosens the dirt good so the roots are happier.

  9. rootietoot says:

    Water water water! They can’t get too much water the first couple of weeks after planting! Roses are wonderfully tough and easy, and as dry as you are there, you won’t have concerns of black spot and mildew like I do. What color? Did they have names on them?

  10. pheenobarbidoll says:

    They’re red and it said hybrid tea rose. (no clue what that means) And now we have 50 mph wind and the temp dropped to 50. Do I need to cover them up?

    • rootietoot says:

      Only if it’s going to freeze. Hybrid tea roses are the tookiest of roses, but in your dry region you’ll be ok. You might get some fertilizer- something for flowers or specifically roses.

      • pheenobarbidoll says:

        I covered them last night, and they appear to be ok this morning. I’m actually impressed they held up to the wind. Each plant has one rose on it, and neither lost a petal. One of my jalapeno plants looks slightly uprooted, so Ima hafta re-pot it but everything looks like it survived so WOOOHOO!

  11. pheenobarbidoll, have you also posted on feministe about breastfeeding and WIC? I’m a professor at University of Toronto writing about US breastfeeding policy (I’m American) and I’d like to interview you if you are…
    The book, by the way, is critical of said policy…
    my email address is courtney.jung@utoronto.ca.
    If you are the same person, please send me an email.
    thanks very much.

Leave a Reply

