For The Good Of The Family

I mentioned before that I’ve bartered sewing services for desserts. This week’s offering: 2 coconut cream pies. You know, the kind of tall ones with the toasted coconut on top? Yeah, those. 2 of them. I have in my possession 2 coconut cream pies. One for me and one to share. You think I’m kidding? I am not.

Now, I know coconut isn’t everyone’s thing. It is, however, definitely my thing. Fry stuff in coconut oil? Oh HECK Yeah. Unsweetened coconut flakes on the baked plantains or in the Thai curry? Well, YEAH!  Mmm…coconut.

See, the sewing project keeps getting more elaborate. I’m fixing to add some 20 more rows of ruffles, and a waistband, and a fancy shoulder flower thing with sparkle stuff (which is quite a coup because the One Who Will Wear The Dress is apparently allergic to All Things Glitter and yet, there we are!)  not to mention this whole project is crazy fun and on top of all that…PIE!

So now there’s a pie on the table and I am wondering how soon is too soon to eat a piece. It’s 10 am. I do like a sweet and a cup of coffee around 1. Do I show Presbyterian Restraint and wait until then? Or do I…y’know…give the pie a Test Drive…to make sure it’s really good and doesn’t just LOOK good. It would be a public service, and I am all about servanthood.  Or something.

About rootietoot

I do what I can.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to For The Good Of The Family

  1. Mandy says:

    You crack me up! Factor in the 150% humidity last night when I was making them, I think I deserve a piece with a cup of coffee. And heck, Kailey should serve us!!!!

  2. Barbara says:

    If your eye causes you to sin….. 😉

  3. Bella Rum says:

    Coconut is my husband’s thing, too. He loves coconut pie. You are a riot. I think you deserve to have that slice whenever you wish.

Leave a Reply

