We call them blessings around here.

I don’t know what I did to deserve such a group of friends and family. If I did, I’d bottle it and give it away and we’d have world peace and rainbows and fat-free pound cake that tasted good.

rainbows-and-butterflies

So, yesterday I whined about the house. Then a friend offered to come clean my bathrooms. Then another friend informed Terry that there was a local maid service and I probably would be happy if they showed up and did the floors, bathrooms, and dusted. So he called them and they are coming on Friday.

And of course, I am one of those people who has to clean before the maid comes.  Terry gave me a sideways look about that.  I mean…ok. things have gotten pretty cluttered around here, and no one really wants a stranger poking around the clutter because they don’t know where stuff goes. So…even though I am feeling absolutely NO better, I am tackling the clutter. One pile at a time. With a cup of tea and an hour of Dr. Phil in between piles.  And probably overdoing it. But if you had someone coming to clean your house, wouldn’t you want it to really look CLEAN when they’re done? I also know how much easier it is to really CLEAN if you aren’t having to do it around piles.

I’ll probably send David out for a rotisserie chicken for supper. We can eat a carrot with it, because they don’t need much preparation.

What I do know, without any doubt, is that I have the very best husband ever, and friends whom (who?  Who or whom?) I cherish.DSC_0746

About rootietoot

I do what I can.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to We call them blessings around here.

  1. I’m a bit embarrassed to admit it, but I have done the whole “clean up before the professional cleaner gets here”. Do you think that might be a “Southern thang”? I am mortified by the idea of anyone even seeing my undies in the hamper.

    • rootietoot says:

      I think it’s a Southern Thang. I used to work as a cleaner, and I can honestly say I never judged a person/household about the mess. However the panties will definitely be under the shirts in the hamper.

  2. I’ve assured my mother that if she goes first, I’m hiring a maid service for my father and will post a note of apology in advance of their arrival, and making sure they know SHE would never had had such a messy house.

  3. Bella Rum says:

    I would have to hide H’s piles before the cleaner arrived. He loves piles of stuff. I don’t think anyone could clean around them. I got him an attractive basket for the office and told him to reduce his piles until they fit. He filled the basket and the piles didn’t seem to reduce at all. Feel better!! Right now!!

    • rootietoot says:

      Terry is allowed to pile all he wants on his dresser, and occasionally on the dining table if it’s temporary. The boys, however, pile with great abandon and enthusiasm. I admit that I pile as well, but mine are much smaller piles with more purpose.

      • bintalshamsa says:

        We each have desks and everyone is free to pile them with as much stuff as they can keep from sliding onto the floor. Our office is completely off limits to outsiders. I’d burn the room to the ground before I let my mother inside. She probably thinks that we’re hiding bodies or stolen bank loot in here by the way I react when I see her standing near that door.

Leave a Reply

