Because of course, when hasn’t it been that way?

 

daylight savings time

Ok. Ever since mid-way through last year, I have been waking up around 4:30 am. No big deal, a decent night’s sleep was had and those early morning hours are lovely and undisturbed by anything. There was also the realization that once Daylight Savings Time rolled about and 4:30 turned into 5:30, that would be fine and the morning slog of having to get used to getting up an hour early wouldn’t be a chore and I wouldn’t have to endure 2 weeks of Time-Lag. This was happy-making.

 

Only (tell me you didn’t see THIS coming.), of late, wakey-up time has slid more toward a reluctant 6:00 am occasionally self-indulgently pushed to 6:15, which is the absolute LATEST we can get up without having to rush and panic about getting ready for the day. Also, I miss that 4:30-5:30 hour of peace. It’s a good way to start a day and I recommend it. Now, I’ll semi-sort-of wake up around 5:15-5:30, crack an eye at the clock or mumble something to Terry about the time, then squeeze in another 30-45 minutes. None of this hopping out of bed quietly (so as not to wake Himself up) with happy anticipation of an entire hour to myself with no chugging appliances, ringing phones, or requests shouted through the closed bathroom door.

stressed-woman-cartoon

I used to think when the kids were no longer toddlers, those closed bathroom door shouty things would stop. However, that offspring radar that informs them I am in a state of undress or digestive incapacity is still effective and well in use. Only now I can shout back and tell them to find it themselves.

So, now that the morning routine has shifted back to a more typical (for the rest of the world) drag-out-of-bed-in-the-nick-of-time, it is…of course…nearly Daylight Savings Time. I don’t like it except for the daylight in the evenings,which mean we can eat a lingering evening meal on the patio, and that Terry will be home before dark and we might be able to enjoy a cocktail outside on the porch swing…I like all that.

 

Maybe once this cold/cough/wretchedness/disease is done with, and there’s no more midnight codeine going on, the 4:30 starts-to-the-day will return. Hopefully before March 10 (or whenever…)

About rootietoot

I do what I can.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Because of course, when hasn’t it been that way?

  1. Have the T-shirt says:

    I can’t get up in the morning. Can’t. It’s ridiculous. I’ve been this way for a couple of months now and it’s driving me batty, and yet…the alarm goes off and I hit the snooze button for an hour. *Rolls Eyes*

  2. Bella Rum says:

    Sorry to hear that your cold/cough/wretchedness/disease is still lingering. Is it just me or does this seem to be the year for lingering crud? I’m ready for spring and (hopefully) healthier days. Your drink on the porch swing sounds like what the doctor ordered… or should order.

Leave a Reply

