Ch-ch-ch-changes

(turn and face the strange) (with apologies to David Bowie because I don’t think this is what he was singing about.) (but it’s apropos) (and I just wanted to use that word because it’s more hoity-toity than appropriate)

So, yesterday our eldest son (who turned 25 on Wednesday) and I made a day-trip to Atlanta. It was cold and rainy with occasional sleet and he grumbled about being freezing.

I was not freezing. In fact, I had the “pleasure” (actually it was, given the 38F temps and sleet) of a 5 hour long hot flash. That’s right.

hot flash

5… hours…long.

Like there was a furnace inside of belly. stoked with rubber tires. Do you know how hot a used tire fire can be? I do. That’s what it felt like. Which was great in the Dekalb Farmer’s Market, because it’s always cold there. Also in the various parking lots where I stood for several minutes, arms out like a bird in the summertime, wearing only a thin long sleeved t-shirt and  a loose vest, face upturned into the sleet and rain, breathing the cold air with relief while he shivered, waiting for me to unlock the car so he could use the seatwarmers.

I wanted to roll in the seafood display at DFM. And drink a Sonic Slush. Now and then my face would turn bright red and I’d have to stand outside to cool off. “Mom, your face is bright red.” he said. So I explained hot flashes. He said “Thank God I never have to go though that.” I thought the same thing about spontaneous erections, so I guess it all balances out.

And no. It wasn’t a fever. I’ve been having these a lot lately. At night, during the day, any time. In a way it’s kind of nice because I am normally sort of cold natured, and we’re saving a good bit on power bills because I have no interest in heating the house.

 

About rootietoot

I do what I can.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Ch-ch-ch-changes

  1. Bella Rum says:

    I can see you there in the parking lot, arms out like a bird in the summertime!!! 🙂 I’ve been known to leave the house and take to the porch in 30° temps, but so far I’ve managed to avoid parking lots. Having said that, a girl’s gotta do what a girl’s gotta do – in a parking lot or anywhere else.

  2. Bella Rum says:

    Oh, and I can’t believe your oldest is 25. I guess if I’d thought about it I would have realized he was around that age, but golly. 25! I predict you’ll be a grandma within five years. You’ll be so good at that.

  3. Been there, done that. Sorry you’re having your share of hot flashes. They really are unexplainable to anyone who hasn’t experienced them before. Hang in there.

    xo jj

Leave a Reply

