Addictions

I love the TV shows. Especially when they’re on Netflix or Amazon, because there’s no commercials and I hate commercials, unless they’re during the Superbowl, then I watch, only for the commercials because football is boring, even more than golf…well ok almost more than golf. whatever.

Anyway, the problem I have with tv is that I’ll finally watch a show that everyone else has been watching for YEARS, and because it’s been on for years, there’s 9 seasons available, and I get started and get hooked and while I’m trying to do what I’m supposed to be doing, my duties as Wife And Mother, Household Executrix, the show sucks me in and I go “bah, the floors will just get dirty again 10 minutes after I sweep and mop, so what’s the point” or “I’ll just shut the bathroom door and no one will notice.” until even *I* notice and then there’s all the guilt from  abandoning my post…but at least I DO manage to get #4 to and from school on time, and dinner on the table, and the laundry done. Laundry’s easy…since gone are the black-kettle-in-the-back-yard days, and the washer and dryer are right around the corner from the tv and these days we have pause buttons and don’t have to rush through the commercials.

Isn’t modern technology grand?

Plus I’m all flabby from watching tv shows instead of schlepping stuff up and down the stairs and pulling weeds…except that pulling weeds etc sends my back into complaints then I have to sit in the chair with a heating pad for a couple of hours and watch tv while it recovers.

I do THINK about exercise. Mind over matter, or something. Last night as I laid in bed, I thought hard about sit-ups and chin-ups. really I did. and it almost felt like I was doing them, made me tired, and I went to sleep.

The thing with tv is this…we didn’t have it much growing up. Sunday  nights we were allowed to watch Wild Kingdom and The Wonderful World of Disney, and occasionally Little House On The Prairie during the week but not always. Then, sometime during our middle school years, the tv was sold and we had none. No tv. We were the only people I knew without one, so I had to go to friends houses to see CHiPs. Which wasn’t very often.   So now, 35 years later, I watch all the tv I can. I guess it’s kind of like the kid who never had the toys he wanted so now collects all those toys he never had.

I have to tell myself this:

Since the shows are on Netflix and Amazon, they aren’t really going away anytime soon and I don’t have to watch all of them in a row and neglect duties.  I need to ration them. Maybe 2 shows a day- one in the morning when I take a 10am break for coffee, and one in the afternoon at 1pm lunch break.  That would be more reasonable, right? And I’d get stuff done, and not have to commit to a 12-step plan for tv addicts.

I had the same issue with reading, when I was a kid (and had no tv). At night, I’d read a book and read and read and read then next thing I knew it would be 2am and I had to get up at 6 for school.  Eventually I figured out that the contents of the book were not going to expire or change, and I could put it down at 10, go to sleep and be not-groggy the next day, and STILL keep up with the plot, since it didn’t change.  I have to tell #4 that now, with his reading.

So, I need to tell myself that Meredith is STILL going to make terrible decisions about Dr. McDreamy, and Yang is STILL going to be a hard-nosed (yet competent) ass to everyone.  The only problem right now is that I am currently not watching The Duchess of Duke Street, and the season isn’t over yet and Terry keeps asking what has happened with her, and I don’t know because I’m busy with Meredith and the Drs McDreamy and McSteamy.

 

I don’t even LIKE Meredith. She’s a ditz.

Dr. McDreamy

Dr. McDreamy

Dr. McSteamy

Dr. McSteamy

About rootietoot

I do what I can.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Addictions

  1. jerseechik says:

    omg! I missed the whole “Grey’s Anatomy” thing, too, and was just thinking the other day about picking it up on Netflix! I will definitely do that this week, we can compare notes, and you can claim “Maintaining an Important Friendship and Social Contact” as your reason to skip sweeping and mopping the floors!

    • rootietoot says:

      It’s a Soap Opera with better actors and medical stuff! I love medical stuff! not For Children, as they don’t seem to be able to keep out of each other’s pants. And yes, I need to keep up since I’m ahead of you I can say things like “McSteamy is definitely mancandy but he’s such an ass I can’t stand him” and “Do you think Izzy will ever get back into proper surgery?” and you’ll understand instead of asking how come I don’t do more productive things with my time.

  2. pheenobarbidoll says:

    You must see Downton Abbey!!

  3. pheenobarbidoll says:

    I’m waiting for season 4. It’s killing me.

    • rootietoot says:

      I’m so busy with Grey’s Anatomy I’m ok with waiting but yes I love that show too. Master Bates (and the 13 year old boy in me wonders why they couldn’t name him Smith or Hansford) is my favorite.

  4. Bella Rum says:

    I do the same thing. We got hooked on Mad Men. I’m thinking about Downton Abbey now. As for the exercise thing, I’ve turned into a lump of mush over the past couple of months. If I don’t start exercising soon I’m not going to be able to move from my chair to the door. Terrible.

    • rootietoot says:

      Downton Abbey is the best show I’ve seen in a long time. The characters are wonderful! As for the mush- you’ve had a pretty good reason for that. I have no excuses but laziness.

  5. I am an unrepentant Netflix addict. I’m watching Once Upon a Time straight through (the first season, anyway). I recently watched Supernatural and some other stuff. I also caught up with Fringe (which was not on Netflix, sadly). I’m waiting for the 10th season of Red Dwarf to go up.

    I also like that the subtitles on Netflix streaming are getting better. It makes watching anything much less stressful. I’m not hard of hearing, but sometimes I can’t understand what anyone is saying. Good subtitles are a godsend.

    I am also glad to see lots of UK shows. One of my favorites is Black Books which is amazingly snarky and hilarious.

    • rootietoot says:

      Oh I got caught up in Fringe- Amazon has it. I will look up Black Books, because I kind of love snark.
      Also Supernatural. I like monsters. well, not LIKE like them, but I am interested in what other people (like the writers) consider awful monsters.

  6. pheenobarbidoll says:

    Supernatural is finally back on. I was having some Dean Winchester withdrawals. Mmmmmmm….Dean. That man is so pretty I just want to lick him. Even like, the elbow. I could be happy just licking his elbow. He could be in a TV show where he did nothing but sit in a chair for 2 hours and I’d watch. He’s my imaginary TV boyfriend.

    • rootietoot says:

      The Winchester brothers are the ages of my children, act just like them, too. So no licking from me. I do like the car, tho. I know many people who feel as you do, and while I understand their appeal, all I can see are my sons so…ew…no.

  7. pheenobarbidoll says:

    Jensen Ackles (Dean) is 35. (only 5 years younger than I am. weeee! Younger man!)

  8. They’re also both from Texas. We grow em good here lol

Leave a Reply

