Now what?!

We’re going to have nearly nobody here for Thanksgiving Day.  Will (24) has to work from 11-8 that day. Apparently there are enough women who’d rather go see Twilight than actually spend time with their families that he is required to be there, so as to serve them popcorn extra butter and a 1/2 gallon of diet coke, also maybe their husbands who’ll duck into the Cafe Theater to see Skyfall and have a beer while their wives are slobbering over Taylor Lautner’s chest and choosing to think his pedophilia is romantic.

And then David has to make a drive to a testing lab for Terry, which is 4 hours away but happily in the same town my parents live in, so he’s going to stay there.

Which leaves…Terry and me, and #4. 3 of us.

For Thanksgiving Dinner.

That’s never happened before.  I asked Terry to  poll the people at work and see if anyone was alone and needed a surrogate family with which to eat. I am, per usual, cooking for an army, because apparently I know no other way to do it.

Then he had the (how come I never think like this?!) bright idea of waiting until Friday or maybe Saturday to have the Big Meal. Everyone will likely be available. Possibly even CJ might be able to come for the weekend.

Anyway, here’s what I intend to fix. Maybe tomorrow, maybe Friday or Saturday.

Smoked boston butt (pork shoulder roast) with carolina style sauce (Sticky Fingers brand)

Smoked chicken (at the same time as the butt. You put the pork on the top rack and the chicken underneath it, so the juices from the fatty pork drip onto the chicken and baste it).

Macaroni and cheese (because here in the Deep South, it counts as a vegetable)

Baked beans (per Terry’s request) (also a vegetable. Beans=vegetable.  Amirite? yes I am.)

Cole slaw (per David’s request as he is attempting Low Carb Eating and actually doing quite well with it) (also, it goes amazingly well with the smoked pork, on a bun as a sandwich ok now I’m drooling)

Terry is making noises about a cobbler of some sort- peach or berries or something- with ice cream.  I have no preference as long as he makes it.

I guess this is what happens when one’s family grows up and goes their own ways. I am actually quite OK with all that, it just takes a little bit of getting used to the idea.  Terry and I have always made plans for what we’ll do when it’s just the 2 of us for a holiday. As parents of exclusively male-types, we are aware that it is very possible, even probably, that our children (once married) will spend them with The Wife’s family, because that’s how it’s done.  So, we have a list of Things To Do for holidays.

Rent a cabin in the mountains

Go Someplace Interesting (The Grand Canyon, Northern California, etc)

stuff like that.

This holiday, tho, Terry is working.  I haven’t said much about his work, because there’s so much going on that I can’t talk about. All I will say is that he is still employed, and for that I am grateful.

 

About rootietoot

I do what I can.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Now what?!

  1. I’m going to a movie that day too, but for entirely different reasons. Not a holiday I celebrate if I can avoid it.

  2. Elizabeth says:

    Yum. Stephen has settle with a girl who doesn’t visit family on holiday occasions so I get to pick the day I cook … finally Christmas dinner on the 25th.
    My father loved cooking for a crowd and with 3 daughters trying to be fair to mothers-in- law he learned to time/day shift to insure we were all sitting around the table on the same day. It was important for him. He got us all every other year.

  3. Ren says:

    i have, for the last few years, done T-Day for those who…well, much like wayward boyscouts, need a place to go….folk who have people half way across the country or further and can/do not travel, so on, folk who are not close to their families, so on. Its not the same, but it is nice.

Leave a Reply

