You know what? When I make a martini (good gin, even better vermouth,plenty of ice in a shaker), I make a big one. And it relaxes me. I suppose I should be somehow ashamed of this, or something, but I am not. it is what it is and sometimes I even call it a coping mechanism.  I do not do it every night, only maybe once a week usually on a Friday because I know I won’t have to get up at 5am like on weeknights.

 

that’s right. 3 olives.

It’s Friday, and I have had that martini- probably  4 oz of gin (Beefeater) instead of the industry standard of 2. And yet, I do not care. I am relaxed, and everything is funny.  Isn’t that what Friday night is supposed to be?

And another thing…just because it’s served in one of those glasses does NOT make it a martini (appletini, caramel mochatinijavadeluxe, whatever). A martini is gin and vermouth,shaken until icy cold, and served with olives, teeny onions, or a lemon zest.

About rootietoot

I do what I can.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to

  1. jerseechik says:

    I don’t think I’ve ever had a martini. If one has a vodka martini, does the vodka replace the vermouth or the gin? Do the tiny onions taste sweet, or like regular onions?
    Making everything funny and relaxed sounds like a splendid way to spend a Friday night. Sleeping in on Saturday sounds pretty good, too. Enjoy!

    • rootietoot says:

      The vodka replaces the gin, which is a sad thing because vodka tastes like cleaning fluid while gin has a lovely herbal quality. The tiny onions are pickled and savory. When I eat them the rest of the household requires a hazmat mask the next day. I did not sleep in this morning. No. I was awake and ready to go at 4:30am. What on earth is wrong with me?!

  2. Bella Rum says:

    I don’t go for martinis but I do enjoy my wine or a bloody or margarita (wine most of the time), and I do have it every night. I figure if I become an alcoholic at this late date, what’s it going to do? Ruin my life? I’ve already lived most of it. 🙂

    • rootietoot says:

      I like that attitude! It reminds me of the doctor telling my (then) 97 yr old grandmother she needed to lay off the bacon and eggs because her cholesterol was too high. That evening adult beverage makes me calm, and that’s a good thing, right? I love a bloody, too. and a margarita.

Leave a Reply

