Bits and pieces

Now! In bullet points!

  • School starts in 2 weeks- well less than that, really. It starts on the 13th.  I am old fashioned enough to think it should start after Labor Day. It does, however, start 2 weeks later than the public schools, so there’s that, I guess.
  • Sewing  jobs: short pants for people who are willing to spend $65 for short pants for a 3 year old. I wouldn’t do it, but who am I to complain about someone wanting swiss batiste short pants lined with cotton sateen for a 3 year old? And the pants are white, no less. I would never have put white pants on my kids when they were 3. That is an open invitation for EBS (Explosive Bowel  Syndrome).
  • Yesterday was cool. Today is not. I am ready for Fall. This Summer has been ridiculously hot. 20 of the days in July were 100+.  I am ready for open windows and a blanket on the bed.
  • I am also ready for Fall and Winter foods. Beef and Stout Pie, chili and cornbread, pinto beans with a ham hock, pot roast. Cream of whatever soups with cheese in it. I want rich and filling foods that make the house smell amazing. I am tired of cold salads and ice water all the time.
  • I guess I am ready for Order and Schedules and to be done with this fluidity of time that comes with Summer. I want to be out of the house by 8, have until 4 or 5 (depending on the sport) with no one else around, dinner on the table at 6:30, and everyone in bed by 9. Lather, rinse, repeat.  I know, this sentiment is inconsistent with the first point in the list. You’ll live.
  • My coffee cup is empty. *snap snap*…still empty.
About rootietoot

I do what I can.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Bits and pieces

  1. jerseechik says:

    Will you pretty-please make beef and stout pie next time I come visit?

    • rootietoot says:

      I will make one here, freeze it, and bring it to you. It uses every single dish in the kitchen and takes all afternoon. However, it’s the same effort to make 4 or 5 as it is to make 1, and they freeze beautifully.

  2. Bella Rum says:

    I am so ready for fall and cold weather food.

    • rootietoot says:

      Absolutely! There isn’t much satisfaction in making a salad, or eating it. There is something about a rich stew with bread that invites the family to sit and linger over the meal. I miss that.

Leave a Reply

