I love Monday, really.

There are so many reasons to love getting away for a weekend:

  • The household chores aren’t yelling at you
  • You get to eat stuff you don’t normally have (DIM SUM! YUM!)
  • The day-to-day stuff at home doesn’t seem so boring.

This morning, even though it was kind of hard to get out of the bed (we actually stayed there until 6:20 instead of getting up at 5:30) was…nice. The dogs were happy to see us, as was the cat. At least I think she was. She yelled a lot and chased Rusty around, bapping him on the head,which is what she does when she’s happy. The coffee tasted good. We are spoiled with the coffee. Luzianne chicory coffee is what we prefer, and outside of New Orleans and Cafe’ du Monde, you just don’t find it in a restaurant. Except here. It is the coffee of choice in the Toot household.

The day has actually been faced with good cheer. It has been difficult lately, life and all that.  The trip was much needed and to be honest I wasn’t positive we’d be able to take it until The Owner told Terry to turn off his phone and “take your lovely wife shopping in Atlanta.” I was pretty sure we’d go, but there was a nugget of doubt that kept saying some crisis would occur and we’d have to cancel.

BUT…no crisis, low(ish) gas prices, and a son who was willing to make sure the dogs were fed, and it all happened. I love it when things work out.

and there’s even some smoked gouda, prominently marked with warning of bodily harm to anyone who would dare to touch it. I love my kids, but not enough to share the smoked gouda or dark chocolate. They can have some of the “nee-shwa” olives, tho.  I think that is mighty generous.

And now? It’s time to get ready for school to start on the 13th.Yep.  Tuition needs to be paid by tomorrow, supplies need to be bought. Office Max has these big brown bags and they’ll give you 20% off anything that fits in the bag. Since #4 never actually USED the notebooks he had last year, he can “use” (or not…most likely) them again this year.  The really good news is that I made him sit down and do his Summer reading and book report (To Kill A Mockingbird) in early June, before he left for camp, so all he needs to do is a quick review. It’s due the first day of school.of t

And I had a lovely, lovely list  (how I do love a list) of things to get done today:

  • Take the trash to the dump (I have CJ’s truck today)
  • pick up prescriptions
  • do a bit of laundry
  • make 2 weeks of menus and a grocery list
  • double check on the measurements for a garment for someone
  • give the dogs their heartworm meds
  • change the sheets on the beds
  • clean out the fridge
  • and I had every bit of it done by noon
  • Go me!
About rootietoot

I do what I can.
This entry was posted in bits and pieces, Dewicate feewings, home and hearth, I feel so smart! and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to I love Monday, really.

  1. Bella Rum says:

    I love a list, too. I managed to get the sheets off the guest bed today and into the washer, but that’s as far as I got. Maybe tomorrow I’ll get them back on the bed. Baby steps.

    So glad you enjoyed your trip to Atlanta.

  2. Jo says:

    A super-organized day. I’m envious.
    If you don’t mind my asking, do you only have 1 cat now? You only mention the female. You used to have 2 Siamese, right? I do hope something didn’t happen to Phleud?

    • rootietoot says:

      Pleud decided he didn’t like living here, and has gone somewhere else. He occasionally shows up in the front yard,and I put food out for him, but we only see him once a week or so. Last time I got him inside he peed all over everything, so he is an outside and elsewhere cat now. Probably with some family that doesn’t have dogs.

      • Jo says:

        Wow, how odd. I’m glad he found another good home, but sorry he wasn’t happy at your place. I know Siamese cats can be *very* particular about their surroundings. Funny little beggar.

      • rootietoot says:

        He got this way when we brought home Rusty. Grace was completely unaffected by his arrival, and enjoys playing with Rusty. I see Phleud on the neighbor’s car occasionally, and he seems in good health. At least I know he’s not hawk dinner.

  3. pheenobarbidoll says:

    I have a friend who had a Siamese do that. She just decided she preferred the neighbors house one day.

Leave a Reply

