This is living la vida lazy

I am, right now, on the 17th floor in a corner room of the Intercontinental Hotel in the Buckhead district of Atlanta. I can see the Atlanta skyline to the right, and Stone Mountain straight ahead. And trees. Lots of trees. Atlanta has so many trees and it’s lovely.

The view from our room

Yesterday traffic was horrendous thanks to several nasty crashes. so we went to the Dekalb Farmer’s Market to pick up some goodies for supper while the crashes cleared.

Cheeses (smoked gouda! Mah Favorite! And 4-pepper crusted chevre! Terry’s favorite! And brioche, and cherries, and Irish cheddar with red wine, and olives, and curried chick peas)

Also? A container of peach juice, to go with the bottle of champagne…bellini’s y’all…that’s what I was drinking…

We got up this morning (what a comfortable bed! And massive squashy pillows! And a duvet! And a thermostat we turned down to 65 so the duvet felt fabulous!), had breakfast, and sallied forth to Our Favorite Places.

Highland Hardware- where Terry got himself some woodworking necessities and I got him a coffee cup that said “He who dies with the most tools wins”. While Terry was hunting for things, I got into a conversation with one of the employees about the gold standard.

Then Gail K- where I got all the fabrics mentioned in that last post. The guy (a short Asian man of indeterminate age) was VERY helpful, especially when he learned I was intent on purchasing a lot of stuff.

Then lunch at The Oriental Pearl, where we ate ourselves into a near coma because they were serving dim sum and we do love us some dim sum. I am particularly fond of sesame balls, tho I cannot figure out why, since they are basically sweet and tasteless and sticky…but love them I do and I had 2 of them. Also? Dim sum is crazy cheap. We had huge piles of food and the whole thing came to $30. The only issue I have with dim sum is that I am lousy with chopsticks and too shy to ask for a fork, particularly since, in this restaurant with about 300 customers, we were the only Caucasians.  So when I could, I kind of stabbed the food with the chopsticks and pretended I knew what I was doing. It worked. I am determined to practice using them so next time I don’t looks like an ignorant anglo.

After lunch we found our way back to the hotel, Terry walked half a block upwind and fetched me a tall coffee, and I watched him from my 17th floor perch, feet propped on the windowsill and feeling very well cared for.

When he got back, he napped and I fiddled on the computer.

I have no idea what we’re going to do now. It’s only 2:30 and we’re all done except for the groceries, and that will be done tomorrow morning, unless we go do it now.

About rootietoot

I do what I can.
This entry was posted in bits and pieces, Hooray!, In The Southland, oh you self indulgent hussy!, spouse and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to This is living la vida lazy

  1. jerseechik says:

    In a fine hotel with your wonderful husband, plenty of free time, and you can’t figure out what you’re going to do next? Well, maybe Terry will have some suggestions…. 😉

Leave a Reply

