Amarillodillo

I do not like Amarillo, Texas.

And that’s all I’m going to say about that.

I do like my grandmother, and the only reason she’s in Amarillo is because she’s from Canyon and Amarillo was the closest place with the kind of assisted living she needs.

I do like chicken fried steak and cream gravy and mashed potatoes, and there’s a place in Amarillo that serves a most excellent version of those things.

But other than that, I could go several years without smelling a stockyard when I first walk out of a hotel room, and not miss it.

It wouldn’t bother me a bit if I never walked into a Walmart and saw 3 young men strung out on some kind of drug, harrassing 2 other young men who were apparently not on drugs.

I would not be upset if I never saw another size 20 woman apparently wearing her skinny 12 year old daughter’s spandex camisole.

Ok maybe I am going to say something about it…

It was good to see my grandmother. I am glad I did it.

It is also good to be home, and I am going to be very happy to sleep in my own bed tonight.

Without the whiff of stockyard or the roar of every single diesel tractor-trailer in the country blowing past my little bitty car.

The chicken fried steak, mashed potatoes,  and cream gravy were delicious.  Terry had the not-mythical chicken fried corn on the cob. Yes.

About rootietoot

I do what I can.
This entry was posted in *whinge*, family, food, Good grief, Grandparents and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Amarillodillo

  1. Sean Breslin says:

    Chicken fried steak is one of the best things about Texas.

Leave a Reply

