O the glory of food in the summer

The vegetarian thing is going pretty well. I’ve only not been vegetarian for hamburgers and bacon. I think that’s pretty good considering the high quality of both burgers and bacon in this household.

Today we went to the local market and bought veggies. Which I promptly cooked as simply and reverently as I could.

Terry spied a bin full of lovely grape tomatoes. He put several in a bag and I said MORE!

He saw cantaloupes and I said YES PLEASE

I saw a whole bin of these little bitty young yellow squash…tiny and tender, and was overcome with a need for squash and onion casserole. So I bought some.

Also, big fat beefsteak tomatoes, with assurances that they were meant for anything, especially sandwiches.

and 2 ice cold cans of Coke. The vegetable market has the coldest cooler in the town.

There was a big ice chest full of 8 pound bags of recently shelled tiny butter peas. I am not ready for 8 pounds of baby butter peas, but it won’t be long.

Dinner tonight:

Grape tomatoes roasted with whole garlic cloves

Summer squash and onion casserole

Black beans cooked with beer and Vidalia onions.  Maybe I should have bought the butter peas because now I want some.

Who needs meat with all that?

 

 

About rootietoot

I do what I can.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to O the glory of food in the summer

  1. Nichole says:

    Yum! I love summer.

  2. Bella Rum says:

    Our local tomatoes aren’t in yet. I’m dying for them, but we’ve been eating Georgia tomatoes the past couple of weeks. Every time I buy them, I think of you.

    I remember once when we visited my aunt. When it was time to eat, the table was full of vegetables. From the garden, we had squash, butter beans and dumplings, corn on the cob, sliced tomatoes, new potatoes, homemade pickles, and my aunt made biscuits. Suddenly someone said, “We forgot the meat.” Someone else said, “Who cares?”

Leave a Reply

