Horsepower!

My parents came for a visit over the weekend. Friday was the 19th anniversary of my 27th birthday, and Mom went over-happy at the Antique Rose Emporium and brought 5 (!!) very old varieties of roses to put in my garden…I knew she was going to bring one, maybe 2, but apparently choosing was difficult so she got 5.   She said she has trouble making decisions these days.

So anyway, we watched the Kentucky Derby and also the Nationwide NASCAR race at Talladega…and I was…well, let’s say flipping the channels back and forth between the 2 caused cognitive dissonance that was only alleviated by holding a beer in my left and and a mint julep in my right one.  No boob-flashing tho, much to Terry’s disappointment.

Watching the Derby was fun. everyone sings My Old Kentucky Home at the start of it all, and the camera kept going to his very elegantly dressed woman in an enormous hat. She had expensively blonde hair, smeared lipstick, and seemed to be enjoying herself enormously. I suspect her fun was chemically enhanced by whatever was in the frosty silver cup she was holding.  What a great race tho! Wow! Youtube it…Everyone was all like “oh, Bodemeister’s gonna win, we all know that blahblah There’s Bodemeister all in the front like we all expect blah blah” and the boom, right out of the middle of the pack comes this horse (I’ll Have Another) no one expected to do much and he blows past Bodemeister like he’s sitting there picking his horsey teeth.  And it all happened about as fast as it took you to read my description right there.

Today we’re watching The Sprint Cup race at Talladega…wow what a fast track. 203 mph roaring around. I want to do that, or at least get a taste of it. In 3 years I’ll be 50, and the desire for this 50th birthday is to take the Richard Petty Driving Experience, and to get to drive a stock car.  I love to drive, and I love to drive fast (much to Terry’s discomfiture)  A couple of years ago, when I got Carmina (a red VW beetle convertible, the Sport Model with the Bigger Engine waahoo!) it was necessary to See What She Could Do, and learned that someone, in their infinite wisdom, decided a governor was required to keep perimenopausal women from scaring their husbands (much) while blasting down backroads in South Georgia at unreasonable speeds. Apparently 137mph is Fast Enough to German Engineers. It is also exhilarating, when the top is down.  The RPDE will allow you to go up to 160, I think. That’s probably fast enough.

So, after watching the race (and the funny commercials), I’ll figure out where to plant the roses.

Oh, and for my birthday? Terry’s done all the cooking and cleaning 🙂  Delicious food, too.

 

About rootietoot

I do what I can.
This entry was posted in family, Holidays!, home and hearth, Hooray!, oh you self indulgent hussy!, Rest and Relaxation and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Horsepower!

  1. Attilathemom says:

    Be sure and post some pics when they bloom! I’m soooo jellus!

  2. Have the T-shirt says:

    Happy Birthday! I love to drive fast too. I missed the Derby and what a shame, I love that kind of ending!

  3. Happy Belated Birthday!!! It sounds like it was fantastic.

    Who knew you liked to drive so fast!?! I would be scared out of my mind to go over 100 MPH. (Those who have driven with me would be shocked I could handle going over 70 MPH 🙂

    Be careful out there.
    xo jj

    • rootietoot says:

      Terry knew…it makes him nervous but I have NEVER had a wreck (that I caused) and have never lost control of the car. I only drive like a demon on roads I know well.

Leave a Reply

