I don’t like change

As a child and young adult, I thrived on exciting times. Going places, moving, doing something new, I loved that stuff! I’d get excited about some new music, or a change in the fashions, or an opportunity to spend time somewhere I’d never been before.

Now? I’ve become one of those old people who orders the same thing off the menu every time. Depending on the restaurant, of course. At Emma’s, it’s the tuna tartar….kind of an adventurous thing, but their’s is so delicious that even when there’s shrimp and grits or perfect ribeye, I get the tuna. At Coconut- it’s the massaman curry. Last time I ate there I got courageous and ordered the pineapple fried rice, which was fabulous,but gave me a stomach ache that wouldn’t go away for 2 days. I think I’ll stick with the curry from now on.

I like to go places I’ve been before. Dillard, Ga and the mile long stretch of antique shops, Tybee Island and the empty beach. I don’t even like to change veterinarians. I tried that not long ago and didn’t like it, so back to the old one we go.

Our medical insurance changed recently. No one asked me if I was ok with that, which I thought was rude. Now I am having issues with the pharmacy. The one I’ve used for the past 7 years won’t accept our new insurance so I HAVE TO CHANGE. Ugh. And one of the pills I take has changed color…which makes me nervous. WHAT IF IT DOESN’T WORK RIGHT? It says it’s what it is supposed to be, but the color is all wrong and that is…change. Which I don’t like.

Every now and then my clothes wear out, and it’s time to get some new ones. I hate that. Different clothes?? WHAT?? The good news is now I’m back to sewing everything, so I know I can get what I want, instead of having to hope that the store will have what I like, which they never do. My style sensibilities come straight out of Quaker Times circa 1960. Or Nuns Gone Wild, or something. Pretty conservative, I tell you what.

The thing is, when I find something I like, I see no reason to change it. I remember being the age of my children, and how my parents had that same sensibility. We’d go eat at Manuel’s and every time…every single time…Dad would order the enchiladas. “I like enchiladas.” he’d say. Dad! Try this burrito! The chimichanga is amazing! “No. I like enchiladas.” and that would make me nuts. But now, I am just the same. We go to El Sombrero, and I order the tacos. I like their tacos. They’re delicious. Sometimes I get a margarita, if Terry’s driving. I like my mid-calf length a-line skirt and cotton blouse with the peter-pan collar. It suits me. I am not interested in looking like a circus tent or a birthday cake, which is what happens when someone my size wears the clothes that are stylish right now. And if someone mistakes me for a Quaker Nun, I’m ok with that too. I have yet to see a nun with cobalt blue toenails, but who’s to say it hasn’t happened?

The closest I come to being adventurous is when we go to The Dekalb Farmer’s Market, and I get lost in the cheese department. Our modus operandus while there is to get the cheeses we know we love, and one more that we’ve never tried. Just one small wedge, not much of an investment in case it’s nasty. I don’t mind spending $2 on something risky like that. (that is why I dislike going to the theater for movies. what if I hate the movie??) I’ve met many delicious cheeses that way- Sage Derby, Harlech Somerdale, Wensleydale..and so on. Rocinante, O yum. It’s easier to be adventurous with food if it’s a small initial investment. It is why I am iffy at restaurants. They’re expensive and I don’t want to spend money on something I might not like.

does that make me old and crotchety? Have I turned into my parents? probably. but I’ll leave the adventure and excitement to the next generation. I am ok with that. I don’t resent, regret, or miss it.

Edited to add:
We went out to eat this evening, to the local Thai restaurant. When we sat down and the waitress was taking our order, she pointed to me and said “massaman curry with chicken, right?” I tried to be a little offended, but she was right. That’s what I ordered.

and for your enjoyment, the latest rose that’s blooming:

Golden Celebration- the flower is 6 inches across!

About rootietoot

I do what I can.
This entry was posted in Dewicate feewings. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to I don’t like change

  1. Nichole says:

    I’m getting more and more resistant to change, too. I’ll take the avocado tacos every time, and if I find a shirt I like? I buy a few of them. Possibly in different colors, if I’m feeling wild.

  2. Have the T-shirt says:

    Now that you mention it….I think I’m becoming pretty set in my ways too. Maybe it’s just that the older we get we KNOW what we like?

    • rootietoot says:

      I think that’s it. I *do* know what I like, and while it may seem like I’m in a rut, the reality is that I’m too frugal to risk getting or doing something I might not like.

  3. Jo says:

    I agree totally. The older we get, the more we’re aware that life’s too short to waste precious time eating something you don’t enjoy. I don’t like change either.

    A beautiful rose, BTW. I bet it smells heavenly.

  4. Jo says:

    On a completely unrelated note — do you have wild critters digging up your flowers or grass, and if yes, how do you deal with them? I’d really appreciate your input on this, as the raccoons keep digging up my grass for grubs!
    Thanks.

    • rootietoot says:

      We occasionally have armadillos digging for grubs, but the dogs are good at keeping them away. In the front yard we have moles and voles, and honestly I just make irritated noises and hope the cats catch them. Sorry I can’t be more help!

Leave a Reply

