Spring Cleaning

I only do it because it’s expected. And needed. Pollen season in the Deep South means everything is covered with a yellow crust that needs peeling off.Or chiseling off. Or oven cleaner.

Anyway, I don’t go on a blitz and do the whole house. That would be nuts, especially because I’m doing 98% of the work, because the heathens in the house, who don’t care if it’s clean or not, would not do the job well enough to satisfy me.

It’s also something of a Zen thing. I do one room a day, and take as long as it takes to do the job entirely. There’s none of the worrying about what else has to be done. Nope. Each piece of furniture individually gets washed with Murphy’s Oil Soap and polished with Formbey’s Lemon Oil. Every little nooks and cranny, one at a time, with no worry about any other piece or if I’ll be able to get to it in time…there’s no time frame. Every inch of baseboard and door frame, every pane of window, all scrubbed clean and polished. Every DVD and book wiped clean. Even the candles on the shelf get a wipe.

I don’t look at the office right through the door. It’s a mess, but it’s turn will come. Maybe tomorrow. I don’t like to say “this must get done by thus and such a date” because that is too much pressure. All I can say is that I want them done before Summer. If I do one room a day, and it takes about 3 hours to do a room properly (excluding bathrooms, they don’t take as long), I will still have plenty of time to do other things. Terry suggests that I do 2 rooms a week, and I may do that and call what he said “permission”.

I am not really what you’d call a “clean freak”. I do like things tidy, piles of stuff are irritating, but as for actual sparkling cleanliness, that’s not that big a deal for me. I have a friend who is a real Clean Freak. She bleaches everything, all the time. If she swats a fly, out comes the bleach and she’s cleaning the fly swatter as well as the spot (even on the floor) where the fly got smashed. After her kids take baths, she bleaches the tub. After they poo in the toilet, she bleaches the toilet. You really honestly can eat off her floors.

Not mine. with 4 dogs and 2 cats and 4 kids with their bare feet who go outside and dig in dirt and walk on Who Knows What, my floors…well, I am content that they aren’t always sticky. When we moved here, the living room and office were carpeted with white pile. I knew that wouldn’t last very long so I didn’t worry about it. About 6 months later we pulled it up (by then it was a strange purple-grey-with-brown-blotches) and put down vinyl. It was a stop-gap thing, and the vinyl was 50 cents per tile. Eventually we covered the vinyl with hickory laminate, but we’ve had so many catastrophic water events (overflowing appliances, bathtubs, etc) that the laminate is quite worse for the wear, but it wasn’t expensive either. Once most of the Water Offenders have moved out, we’ll probably replace the sad floor with something classier, like real hardwood. But as long as there are people who tear stuff up, there will be cheap flooring. and as long as there are people running all over, I will refuse to fret over how clean those floors are.

But for now, the house is getting a good scrubbing, and that will buy me a solid month of Not Worrying Much At All. I may even have some people over for dinner.

About rootietoot

I do what I can.
This entry was posted in home and hearth, In The Southland and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Spring Cleaning

  1. Bella Rum says:

    My hat is off to you, Rootie. I’m going to do spring cleaning some year.

  2. xena says:

    I’m totally procrastinating on my spring cleaning. Well, actually, I’m in the middle of it right now and I have to keep sitting down for Frustration Breaks so I don’t accidentally-on-purpose break something. I do that when I’m annoyed–fling stuff around and bust holes in things in the process. I do alot of deep breathing to save myself the expense of replacing anything that could snap in my shaking hands.

    So I have to clean the last tenant’s mess in the attic in the next 7 hours, and every time I think I’m in the last leg of the race, the final 3hour wall& floor wash, I discover some other crusted on pile of retch inducers. This time it’s the stupid bucket my sister said I could use. It’s full of crunchy filth. AAARRRGHHH!!! I have to clean it before I can wash the walls. No point in washing anything in nasty brown water.

    Last time (about 6hours ago) I discovered an entire 8’x10′ crawl space, about 6′ high, where the landlord says I shouldn’t go bc the ceiling’s rotten and coming down. So who the heck put the pile of nasty carpet, wood, old paint cans and I don’t even want to know what else in there if the floor won’t hold the weight of an adult?

    Or maybe… I knew there was a reason I type when I’m stressed. I bet the landlady meant my sister shouldn’t go in there. She’s a big lady. I mean big like Anne Wilson from Heart. Nope, that couldn’t be what she meant. The door is too small for her. Maybe she just meant don’t pile up my belongings until the floor warps? Bah. I guess I have to leave that part until later. Which means I lose out on about 6 square feet of storage space, plus a closet, so I can get at that mess after Easter. Which means another big pile of stuff I don’t want in the kitchen has to stay down here. Dangit!

    Oh well. I’m just happy to be moving the motherload of stuff out of my storage locker. My photo albums and dvds πŸ™‚ My special knitted baby blankets that I thought might get sold at auction and lost forever πŸ™‚ And finally! Enough dressers for all of us to properly store our clothes! Stuff gets so wrinkled and full of pet hair in this little apartment. We’ll all be happy to have the extra closet πŸ™‚

    Look at me. Half an hour’s gone by already. I should have another coffee and get back to work. ttfn.

  3. xena says:

    One of these days I’ll figure out how to clean like you, Rootie. Here and there, no rush. After this one big stressful one, I promise myself πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

