Downton Abbey

I heard lots of people going on about Downton Abbey. Netflix has it on Instant View. I thought “oh whatever…” then one day last week, being bored, I put it on the thing and watched an episode. The pilot was a FAR TOO SHORT 90 minutes. Then I watched another one. And another. Then got mad because it was time to fix supper. So we had something that took about 20 minutes to make (instead of the more typical hour-1/2+ that I normally spend on the meal). I wanted to yell at everyone to leave me alone to my story…then I fell mildly in love with Mr. Bates, the valet…no , not a hunkerly handsome manly man, but an honorable one, quiet and stoic. Probably the most decent fellow in the story, tho there is a lot to be said for Lord Whats-his-name, even though he’s the Family Patriarch he is really a very nice man. It’s interesting to me that the Family is far less snooty than the servants who work for them…good grief what a lot they are.

I absolutely LOVE the Maggie Smith character. She’s awesome anyway, and the lines she spouts out…She’s a Family Matriarch, mother of the Lord of Downton Abbey. She’s quite decent in her own way, tho pretty set in her Victorian ways. There is a subplot of a competition between her and the mother of the young man the estate is entailed to…which is another subplot of the story.

anyway, I am now hooked and I know Netflix has the first season. If they don’t have Season 2 I will…threaten to…do something Rash. Maybe write a tersely worded letter or do a Maggie Smith Look of Contempt. Man, that woman is funny.

The boys, of course, are bored to pieces by it. In the never-to-be-forgotten words of CJ,when he watched about 5 minutes of Pride and Prejudice at the tender age of 7, “Mom, all they do is talk and cry!” There are no explosions, not many raised voices, tho there is a death and very interesting cover-up, and a couple of really mean spirited servants you’d love to give a slap to. The boredom of the boys is an excellent thing, because it means they will leave me alone while I’m watching. it.

About rootietoot

I do what I can.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Downton Abbey

  1. xena says:

    CJ might like this version of Jane Austen:

  2. Have the T-shirt says:

    Someone just suggested I watch this series, so I tuned in last night for a “Behind the Scenes” piece. I was fascinated and now want to get my hands on Season 1 & 2 DVD’s.

  3. I’ve heard so much about Downtown Abbey– Now I’m realllly going to have to rent it. Thanks for the nudge.
    xo jj

  4. kaylen says:

    LOVE this show!!!
    Season 2 was available for free-no commercials- on PBS.com. I’m not sure if it’s still available, or how long it will be-but you might want to check that out as an alternative to waiting for the season to be on dvd.

Leave a Reply

