A Man of his word

Yesterday evening #4 said he wanted a haircut. Ok, no problem. I have clippers and usually give him a 1/2 inch buzz cut every couple of months.
No, he said. I want is as short as you can get it without actually shaving me completely bald.
Um…I said. You sure about that?
Yes, he replied. Then he reminded me of the deal made at the beginning of the semester. There is this one kid in his class who dislikes the school. He was failing in Bible (it’s a Christian school). The teacher and #4 said if this kid made an A in Bible, they’d shave their heads. #4 was confident it wouldn’t happen.
Well. It happened.
#4 said the teacher told him that he didn’t have to do it if he didn’t want to. But #4 said no, he’d said he’d do it and so he did.
I asked him several times before I started if he was sure, and he said yes.
So I put the 1/16″ head on the clippers and commenced to shaving.
Afterward he started getting nervous. He asked if I had a wig (no,not one he’d want to wear).
Then he found a knit hat and put that on.
He has one teacher who is a stickler about the ‘no hats’ rule and he is going to beg her indulgence on this, at least until Bible class after lunch. He wants to surprise his class mates.
I told him I am very proud of him for sticking to his word, even knowing the teasing he is likely to receive.

Later:
When he got to school, the kid who made the Miracle A was the first one to see him and said “HOLY COW YOU ACTUALLY DID IT!”

Also, no one teased him, but they did all want to rub his head, which feels delightfully velvety. He wanted to charge 25 cents per rub, so as to finance an ice cream cone after lunch,but no one paid him. They rubbed his head anyway, which I suspect (in the case of the girls rubbing) was not entirely unwelcome.

Another thing…he doesn’t even *like* the kid for whom he shaved his head! But he did it anyway!

About rootietoot

I do what I can.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to A Man of his word

  1. Have the T-shirt says:

    You’re raising a good one there πŸ™‚

  2. WOWOWOWOWOWOW!!! #4 is an awesome kid.

    I take my hat off to him (no pun intended).

    xo jj

  3. xena says:

    Yes, he did the honourable thing.

  4. Kathryn says:

    Proud of him! Good kid!

Leave a Reply

