When in doubt…

Fried chicken and potato salad.
Terry had a rough day at work needed comfort food.
The boys were all kind of wanting it.
CJ offered to go to the store and get the ingredients.
Daylight Savings Time means we can sit on the patio to eat it.
I wanted it. I’ve been wanting it for a week, and held off but no more.
Maybe I’m weak. Maybe I’m not. Maybe I know when to give up the fight and enjoy the ride.
The thing is, when I want fried chicken, I do not want Popeyes, or KFC, or Uncle Shug’s Chicken Barn. I want James Beard’s Southern Fried and I want it cooked the way he does it…in lard.

And so it is. Tomorrow, I’ll eat a head of broccoli and drink a quart of red wine to unclog the gut and arteries. But tonight, it’s chicken done the proper way.

About rootietoot

I do what I can.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to When in doubt…

  1. Nichole says:

    Good for you! I’m all in favor of comfort dinners on the patio every now and again. We’re finally getting a picnic table this weekend. I can’t wait for our first chicken-on-the-patio night!

  2. Bella Rum says:

    Just the other day, I said I was going to break down soon and dive into some fried chicken, and I will. I made potato salad and baked beans today. We cooked plain old hotdogs on the grill. It was beautiful outside.

  3. xenaresurrected says:

    Mmm. Outdoor cooking. The weather’s getting nice enough up here that we might be able to pull out the barbecue soon. I don’t trust it to stay nice, tho. Sometimes it warms up around the March break and then snows again in April.

    I’m taking advantage of the nice weather while it lasts. I just rescued my stuff from storage (actually I was having such a hard time making the payments it nearly went to auction.) Woo-hoo! I can get on my exercise equipment! Maybe after I try that fried chicken…

Leave a Reply

