I need a title.

I like to wear aprons. Being a messy sort, it keeps me from having to change clothes just to go into town. I have a fairly large selection. David has given me one for Christmas the past 2 years. One says “Your opinion is not in my recipe” and the other says “Life is too short to cook for you people.” The others are all phrase-less hoity-pa-toity ones from Williams-Sonoma that have the nice long thingies I can wrap around my waist and tie in front. I like them because they have generous thingies that work with a zaftig figure such as mine.

Anyway, now I have this fancypants new sewing machine that does embroidery, and I want to make an apron. It needs to say something. I am thinking a title of some sort. Terry has suggested “Domestic Goddess” but I am too modest for such. I am considering “The Queen”, but I am also fond of biblical verses that reference food.

In my kitchen, along the soffit on one wall, is the phrase “they wander about for food and growl if not satisfied. Psalm 59:15” In the psalm it refers to the enemies of Israel outside the gates of Jerusalem, but I think it is appropriate for the kitchen of a person who has 4 sons.

So I found another one, Proverbs 30:8 “Remove far from me vanity and lies: give me neither poverty nor riches; feed me with food convenient for me” KJV
The bit about food convenient for me is particularly charming.

I am, however, looking for other phrases, or titles, or anything that would translate well onto an apron.

Suggestions?

About rootietoot

I do what I can.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to I need a title.

  1. Have the T-shirt says:

    I googled cooking quotes (because I google everything, that way I don’t have to actually think), and I like this one by Truman Capote:

    “Oh, I adore to cook. It makes me feel so mindless in a worthwhile way.”

Leave a Reply

