Happy Birthday #1!

Yes, it’s true! My oldest son has a birthday today! He’s 24!
He’s starting school tomorrow! Yes! college!

1 week old

That's him on the left

Dear Will,
I am proud of you.
You’re interesting, well read, and have well thought out opinions. I can start thinking of you more as a peer now, and less as a child of mine. Be patient, that will take some doing to change the thought patterns of the past 24 years, but it will come. I value your opinions, even when I don’t agree with them.
I look forward to watching you through the next few years, as you go through higher education and get a real handle on what you intend to do with the rest of your life. I’ve never had a child to proceed through this process, so I don’t know what to expect. This is a truth about your life that has always been there. Congratulations, you’re my trailblazer.
However, I will always be your Mom. I will always grumble about your dietary habits, feel inclined to feed you cheese and nuts (Dude! You need some CALORIES!) and worry that you aren’t sleeping enough. It’s what Moms do, you should be used to it by now.
Anyway, Happy 24th Birthday.
I love you!
Mom

About rootietoot

I do what I can.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Happy Birthday #1!

  1. Have the T-shirt says:

    Love the pictues! It is so sadly true that our first borns are basically ‘experiments’…I feel so sorry for my first offspring!

    Happy Birthday…wow 24…must be nice!

  2. Happy, happy Birthday, Will. I hope your 24th year and all you have ahead of you are happy, wonderful, exciting and joyful. Have a blast at college and congrats to your parents for doing such a great job raising you 🙂
    jj

  3. How wonderful! Happy birthday to yooooou!

Leave a Reply

