2 weeks from now…

In just 2 short weeks, it will be 2012. Hard to imagine, isn’t it! Why, just a few years ago, maybe 10 (?) I was sledding down the hill behind Westview Elementary School in Champaign,Illinois. I was 7 and we had one of those round saucer sleds where whoever pushed you down the hill could give it a spin and you’d be completely out of control and fall in a heap at the bottom of the hill, all dizzy and (if you’re like I am, with motion sensitivity) feeling a little like throwing up.

About a year ago, I was in college busy trying hard not to be upset that Terry was still engaged to Someone Who Wasn’t Me, making plans to sew him a leopard print shirt because Someone Who Wasn’t Me told him she thought leopard print shirts were stupid, but he always wanted one. It was all part of my nefarious plan to steal him out from under her. It worked, too. Bwahahaha…

6 months ago we had 3 young children and all those Parents Of Young Children worries, like…do we let them play with toy guns…and…what about organic food? Will they fail to thrive if we let them eat Jolly Rancher candies?

Last week they were graduating from high school…

3 days ago they moved out then about an hour later they moved back in…

and now I am staring at 2012 and I only just got used to writing 2001 on my checks. The good news is that 98% of our bill paying stuff is done online so checks are only written once in a while.

So I am wondering what to expect out of 2012? Truth be told, 2011 has kind of kicked my butt. Between STUFF with the kids and STUFF with the spouse and STUFF in my head and all kinds of other STUFF, both physical and existential, I am ready for 2011 to be done and gone. I might even throw the calendar away. Usually I keep my calendars, the book type that has all appointments and menus and phone numbers in them, in case I am ever called to be someone’s alibi, or have to prove I was no where NEAR Candace from Newark when someone stabbed her in the eye for flirting with their husband. But I am so disgruntled with 2011 overall, that I might even be willing to say “it could have been me” just to have something interesting to say about the year.

SO my plans for 2012 involve getting my vegetable beds back in order. Terry has this guy working with him who owns an all organic berry farm in Michigan, and he is giving me useful advice on fertilizing and such. I look forward to green peas and salad and decent tomatoes.

I am hopeful that my kids will finally be on some sort of career oriented track, with 2 in college and 1 in the Navy (or some form of the military).

I am anticipating Terry’s job calming down and becoming more sensible where work hours are concerned. 2011 was full of 14 hour days and 7 day work weeks for (quite literally, this is not exaggeration) months at a time. He’s getting lieutenants, people he will supervise but will also do the day to day stuff so he can focus on the bigger picture. Dinner at a decent hour, maybe a weekend off now and then, perhaps even a chance to do some traveling again.

As for me, personal stuff? I just want to stay alive, and I am making it a goal to be 2 degrees less of a smart ass. Goals need to be manageable, y’know. If I said “I will not be a smart ass in 2012” that would be like saying “I am going to be a size 10 by June” and the only way that would happen is if I suddenly contracted concurrent tapeworms and Dengue Fever. no thanks.

What are your plans or desires for 2012?

About rootietoot

I do what I can.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to 2 weeks from now…

  1. Nichole says:

    I want to have lunch with rootietoot. 🙂

  2. Terry says:

    To be a better husband

  3. jerseechik says:

    I know what you mean about a year kicking butt- 2009 was that way for us. The good news is, it gets better.
    What happened with 1 in the Navy?
    I’d like to do Wii dance three times a week in 2012. The sugar of Christmas is, unfortuneately, NOT kicking butt, but is moving right in and making itself a pad.
    Thanks for reminding that goals need to be manageable.

    • rootietoot says:

      He still, plans to go in, but the Hughston Clinic is dragging it’s ass on getting his medical records to him. He’s submitted the form twice now, to both the main office in Columbus and the clinic in Auburn where he was treated,and they’ve acknowledged receiving the forms, but still no records. Until the Navy recruiter has those records, he’s in a holding pattern on MEPS and basic training.

      • jerseechik says:

        We know a young lady who is heading to Great mistakes in January- mundy is her last name. (SO glad I’m too old for that sort of thing!)

  4. Have the T-shirt says:

    I want to continue on the path of kicking the smoking habit and get back into the size 6’s I could wear A MONTH AGO when I quit smoking! But mostly, I just want my kids and myself healthy and happy.

  5. attilathemom says:

    Hey, I adore your smartassedness! Don’t lose that!

Leave a Reply

