In The Land of Invisible Women

A Female Doctor’s Journey In The Saudi Kingdom by Qanta A. Ahmed M.D.
I read this book recently (Kindle edition)
(I don’t want to hear what anyone has to say about my prior griping about Kindles. I’ve kind of fallen in love with the convenience od pecking around on Amazon and downloading a book. Especially a free one.)
If you are at all interested in what goes on in Saudi Arabia, read it. Fascinating stuff, and I had no idea.
It is written by a Saudi woman who received her medical training in the US, then went back to The Kingdom (as she refers to it).
It’s not just about her treatment within the hospital where she works, but also about her Hajj (the pilgrimage to Mecca) and her relationships with other Saudi women, and much more.
You will learn a lot about why Saudi Arabia is what it is.
For a Southern White Presbyterian who knew NOTHING about Islam and the Saudi Kingdom, it is a fantastic read and I learned a lot.

About rootietoot

I do what I can.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

