Oh that impetuous man :)

So earlier today, Terry says to me (I’d been finishing the new mantel for the fireplace) “Are you hands clean? Let’s go into town.”

Where are we going? I ask

You’ll see. He said.

Hm. I thought. A new ring? Mink lined gloves? What would be need me to have clean hands for?

I couldn’t figure it out.

Then he pulled into the local Gun Store.

Hum. I thought.

So we looked around. That one’s nice, but too big. Oh, that one is a great big compensator, it’s so big it’s silly.

Hey look over here, at this one. It’s a Colt (would be like buying a Cadillac, or maybe a Viking stove), and a little one.

I’ve always like the way the Peacemakers look, and the grip style is really well balanced and all, but they’re bigger than I am interested in, at .38 and .44 caliber. I like to shoot a .22…little kick, not real heavy, a nice girly gun. It’s a Colt Scout!

And so it is, because he’s completely incapable of thinking “I’ll get her a gun for Christmas” the day after Thanksgiving, then keeping it to himself until December 25. I also got a lovely little carry case and a couple of boxes of ammunition.

Armadillos of Bulloch County, Fear Me.

I named it "June"

About rootietoot

I do what I can.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Oh that impetuous man :)

  1. Have the T-shirt says:

    Men are such big babies! When they’re sick and when they have a gift to give and can’t keep a secret. It’s almost universal.

    *I* would never want a gun, but you are like Jerm’s girlfriend…she’d LOVE a gun too.

    • rootietoot says:

      Target shooting is very cathartic to me. I could never intentionally shoot a person or even an animal, tho there is not telling what I’d be capable of if someone threatened my young’un.
      I am actually quite OK with his inability to keep a secret like this, because he’ll get all unhappy about me not having a present under the Christmas tree, and then I’ll get something else 🙂

  2. Ren says:

    June is mighty pretty!

  3. Bella Rum says:

    Is that June as in June Cleaver? Wonder if she had a gun under that apron?

Leave a Reply

