All that Autumn stuff

We’re at that peculiar time of year, where it’s a little bit cool to leave the windows open all the time, yet it’s too warm by midday to have the heat on, and I want to wear a sweater but it’s too warm, but in just a shirt I’m too cool.

And no, I don’t like taking it off after I’ve put it on. And I don’t like wearing layers.

And there goes the puppy, trotting around the corner with a pair of socks in his mouth…

where was I?

Oh yeah…sweaters and stuff. We left the windows open last night,because I like a house that’s cool at night, the better for snuggling under a blanket, but this morning after Terry and David left and I was there all alone, I got cold. The thermostat was reading 60 (inside) and the thermometer outside said 46. So I closed all the windows and turned on the heat. Only the dogs smell funny, and in that heat (set on 70, not too hot, I thought) it was even worse.

Lily has bad breath, Daisy is always gnawing on Lacy so they both smell weird, and Russell Sprout, the puppy, has a yeast infection in his ears so he smells like old cheese. And they always want to be right near wherever I’m at so I get to smell all that. Ew.

where was I?

Oh yeah…the weather. that’s not to say it’s unpleasant. Oh no, it’s perfectly gorgeous outside. clear as the proverbial bell, not a cloud to be seen, and stellar for driving with the top down on the car. With seatwarmers. O yes, the pinacle of self indulgent luxury. The only thing that could improve it would be a built in espresso machine and Terry in the passenger’s seat, making hot mochachinnos.

I cannot decide if the windows should be opened tonight or not. The extra blanket on the bed is always welcome, but the cold in the morning makes it mighty hard to roll out of it at 5:30am. tho hot coffee helps.

About rootietoot

I do what I can.
This entry was posted in Dewicate feewings, dogs!, home and hearth, In The Southland. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to All that Autumn stuff

  1. Have the T-shirt says:

    Fall is my favorite season. I love the chilly mornings, the cold evenings….it’s kinda suckin’ to not have someone to cuddle up with, but…pffft, I have Emma and Bailey to cuddle I guess.

    And THEY love me no matter what.

    You know what though? Bailey has a ‘doggy’ smell…Emma always smells wonderful. How strange, huh?

  2. Bella Rum says:

    Fall is my favorite season, too. When I was a kid, I loved summer so I could go swimming and the winter when it snowed. Now I enjoy the milder months like fall and spring.

Leave a Reply

