Well, that was pretty awful.

Homersaurus Rex,we had him less than a week, folks. I took him to the vet and he was given a gold star for being healthy, and a tablet of Sentinel, the heartworm and flea once a month preventative. And he had an allergic reaction to it and died. I’d given him the tablet and a cheese nip, then sent him outside for a bit. I know, NOW I know, I should have kept him in and watched him for a reaction. NOW I know that. I could have given him benadryl. I could have, I should have, I could beat myself up 100 hours, and I am.
Terry called his breeder and told her, so she could warn others. He called the vet, and they apologized. He called my father (a retired veterinarian) and he said Sentinel has had issues with allergic reactions, and my vet should have known this. Now I’m angry and I am going to change vets. With 4 dogs and 2 cats that’s not insignificant.

Yesterday was horrible. poor Homer.

Missy Porth, the breeder, generously called and offered us another puppy, so we’re going up there today to get one. and we will not name him Homer. Perhaps we should give it more time, for grieving and such. But the older dogs and cats were just getting used to Homer, and I want to carry that on, rather than give them time to get unused to him and have to go through the whole process all over again. And Terry, he needs his shop buddy. AND NO SENTINEL.

I’ll give baths and combings. No SYSTEMIC FLEA STUFF.

Good Lord that was traumatic. Poor, poor Homer. He was just getting into the groove of the household,was almost housebroken even.

Sigh.

About rootietoot

I do what I can.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Well, that was pretty awful.

  1. JerseyChick says:

    I’m so sorry for both you and Terry, and happily amazed at Missy Porth’s generosity.

  2. Nichole says:

    Oh, that’s awful! I’m so sorry.

  3. Have the T-shirt says:

    OMG! I cannot IMAGINE 😦

    I’m so sorry. Emma is on a drug called, I think, Tricepta which is a flea, tick, heartworm medicine. SHE went to a different vet than the one I always use because she came from the shelter and her first exam was paid for. Our vet doesn’t offer these ‘all in one’ medications and I wonder if this issue is one of the reasons he doesn’t.

    How awful.

    • rootietoot says:

      I am absolutely going to stay away from the all in one stuff. It will be old school for me- Heartguard and flea baths. We found out from Dad (a retired veterinarian) that there’sbeen inssues with allergic reactions to the all in ones. If Emma has been on it and had no reactions, you’re probably fine to keep her one it, but watch out for rashes, as that has been one of the problems.

      • Have the T-shirt says:

        Well, I’m taking her off of it. I’ve noticed her scratching a lot and I’m always finding new scabs on her, that might just be from her and Bailey playing, but could be something else and I’m taking no chances. I’m SO sorry about Homer.

  4. Jo says:

    Aw, I’m so sorry. Poor little doggie.

  5. How awful! So sorry, Rootie. 😦

Leave a Reply

