Ok, We have this friend. We’ve know him and his wife (Hi Michelle!~~) for many years. Part of his job requires him to go to China a couple of times a year, and he inevitably asks “What can I bring you?” Usually I say “oh I don’t know. I don’t need anything.” But not this time.

Oh no. This time I said “10 yards of ivory silk, please.” I didn’t care what kind. Charmeuse, Peau de Soie, georgette….didn’t care. I just wanted some. So he (bless him!) said “OK!” then called Terry from China and told him that alas,since the fabric he could find was 36 inches wide instead of 45, he got 17 meters and it’s not ivory, but a light tan (like coffee with LOTS of cream in it) is that ok?

Is that ok, he asks. He’s bringing me 17 meters of fine Chinese silk…and I’m going to complain because it’s 17 meters of cafe’ latte instead of 10 yards of ivory? Well ok fine, if that’s all you can find I guess it will have to do.

I decided to wait and see what exactly it was before deciding what to do with it. Annnnd…

It’s charmeuse. CHARMEUSE! I LOVE THAT STUFF! Drapey and light and flowey and so feminine and not stiff at all! And not sheer either…

So…I was surfing around my favorite vintage clothing sites looking for inspiration. Have you ever watched a movie with Myrna Loy in it- like The Thin Man movies…and noticed what she wears? That’s what I want to make. Structured yet floating. Feminine but with authority…

and came across this. Seriously, please, please go look at it.What do you think? I want to make this. Lace will need to be found, but I know just the place. Terry has promised a trip to Atlanta soon, to find such lace.

This one, in the pictures, is tiny. The hips on it are a solid 34 inches. (what a cow, right?) I’m going to make a bigger one, more Rubenesque, probably a size 16-18, because I think that cut would look fabulous on a larger woman.

I hope there’s enough fabric to make a gown to go with, but the robe comes first.

About rootietoot

I do what I can.
This entry was posted in crafty!, Hooray!, I feel so smart!. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to

  1. OMGosh, that dress is absolutely stunning!!!!

    You have a very nice friend to shop for you and take the time to even call and ask about colors and measurements. WOW, what a guy.

    Can’t wait to see the finished product. Happy sewing!

    xo jj

  2. Bella Rum says:

    Wow! Are you kidding? That is beautiful. Can you really make that? I don’t sew at all. I’ve made curtains and a few other things years ago, but I was never proficient at it. You must show us the finished product. I’m going to think about you swishing around the house in that.

    • rootietoot says:

      When I was in college,I paid for fun by designing and making custom clothing. It’s been 25 years, but the sewing mojo is returning (as well as the TIME),soI am looking forward to making this. I have NO idea what I’ll do with it, it’s not exactly the sort of thing you cook bacon in.

Leave a Reply

