You know what ticks me off? And I don’t mean in that “I’m gonna start breaking things here, folks..” way,but in the “oh for pete’s sake” way.
Well ok. There’s plenty of things. I will admit that. I am not the world’s easiest person to live with. at least i recognize it.

No, what really cheeses me (in a mild cheddar way, not a piquant rocinante way) is getting up in the morning to find dirty dishes in the kitchen sink. At night, before going to bed, I clean the kitchen and fix the coffee pot up. There is nothing quite as satisfying (ok there’s plenty of things as satisfying and some even MORE satisfying, but it’s a literary indulgence, so indulge me) as getting up and starting the day with a spanking clean kitchen, like a fresh sheet of paper to draw on or a brand new calendar. Fabulous!

Only, when your household has in it 2 adult offspring who still turn their underwear wrongside out to get an extra day of wear out of them, those spawn people do not comprehend the need I have for a Fresh Start every day. Oh sure, I can yell and cry and lecture and berate…but lacking the inclination to stay up until after midnight and police the kitchen prevents me from…y’know…staying up until after midnight etc. And I really don’t feel like fighting about it,especially since their reaction would be “what’s the big deal? It’s just a couple of dishes?” Only, when there’s 3 people (2 adults ages 21 and 20,and a 12 year almost-adult)who each leave 3 dishes (a bowl,spoon and drinking glass) and they just pile them on the counter next to the sink, instead of LOOKING IN THE DISHWASHER TO SEE IF THERE’S DIRTY DISHES IN THERE AND PUTTING THEM IN THERE, it means that’s what I get to look at first thing in the morning, when all I want is to get up to a clean kitchen and have a cup of coffee.

After Dinner Dishes by Stephen Dohanos

Perhaps it is unreasonable of me to want a clean kitchen. Perhaps I’m just being ‘anal’ about it all. These are, I realize, people who turn their underwear wrongside out to avoid doing laundry for an extra day. (I’ll do their laundry for them, but only for a fee). Perhaps I should simply be grateful that the dishes actually wind up in the kitchen, instead of on the floor under their beds,or piled in the bathtub. Perhaps I should be grateful that I have dishes and a kitchen to mess up. Perhaps.

About rootietoot

I do what I can.
This entry was posted in *whinge*, Dewicate feewings, family. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to

  1. JerseyChick says:

    It is better to have dirty dishes in the kitchen. My sister is still trying to get the ants out of My Poor Niece’s room.

    On the other hand, it is Your House, not theirs. They are boarders, due to their school situation. Your House, your rules. What would an 1800’s landlady do?

  2. rootietoot says:

    Raise the rent? Accidentally bleach everything on their floor?
    Stock only no-salt snacks and raw veggies? oh…wait…already do that. CJ says he’s moving out Sept 1,if Will kicks out one of his roommates. He’s the worst offender.

  3. JerseyChick says:

    What does Will say?

    • rootietoot says:

      I meant CJ is the worst offender…and he’s moving in with Will, who doesn’t live here so I don’t care what his kitchen looks like. You English Teacher.

      • JerseyChick says:

        I knew what you meant. My confusion stems from the last conversation I had with Will, who claimed he did not want CJ as a roommate. At least at that time.

  4. You know, I think we live in a parallel universe many times. I GET it—I so, so get it!!

    I have been bitching about the same stuff for months, here in casa Attila.

    Here’s what I’ve been doing (other than pitching a fit) lately. Since pitching a fit doesn’t seem to work.

    I get up at 4-5am. If it’s one of the kids, I wake their asses up when I get up and make them put their crap in the dishwasher. Lots of “I am NOT your servant!” gets thrown around. If it’s Hubby’s stuff, then I wash it, using plenty of hot water, put it in the dishwasher and then start it.

    By the time he gets up there isn’t either 1) a lot of hot water left for him to take a 20 minute shower or 2) a lot of water pressure for him to be satisfied.

    If aggressive/aggresive doesn’t work, passive/aggressive always seems to get the point across. LOL

  5. Elizabeth says:

    It’s a woman thing. No one here gets it either.

    I totally get it though and you have my sympathy. : ) I do not have a magic fix. Sorry. : (

  6. Bella Rum says:

    I hate to wake up to dirty dishes but I have no one to blame but myself. Sometimes H leaves them there, but he really isn’t bad about it. Sometimes I just go up to bed at night and leave the mess. I always think of my mother who would never do such a thing.

Leave a Reply

