I just noticed how wrong the picture of the automatic ruffler is. It’s as if someone who wanted to take a pretty picture of it (but had no idea how it actually WORKS) set it up. For those of you who caught the mistake, my apologies. For the rest of you, please do NOT use that photograph as a reference on how to set up a ruffler. How embarassing.

It’s Sunday morning. 10 ’til 7. Terry left for work about 45 minutes ago and I just finished my second cup of coffee. The weather appears to be partly-almost mostly cloudy. Rain would be nice. Perhaps if I turned the sprinkler on the garden, it would. I’ve noticed that when it has been several days since rain, and I decide to water the garden (which has dwindled to one sad patch of basil and arugula, and the herb bed with roses) due to impending crispiness, it decides to rain that evening. Every single time. Terry noticed this as well, and since the river he monitors very closely is WAY LOW, he wants rain, and lots of it. Therefore, he asks hopefully many evenings “did you water today?” However, I am noticing that my neighbors, who do not have herb and rose gardens,do not water. In our drought conditions, I feel very conspicuous and not a small amount guilty for watering frequently. Fortunately, the bits that are being watered are small, so it’s not as if I am running a huge sprinkler for hours and hours over the entire 1/3 acre of lawn.

It’s 4th Sunday, which around here means Potluck Lunch after church! Whee! Our church congregation (about 200 plus students) is divided into 4ths, and each 1/4 meets on 1 Sunday a month for a potluck lunch. It gives us a chance to get to know people better, and you know how there’s something about eating with folks to bring them closer. Anyway, there’s a big crockpot full of chicken and rice waiting to go. The lunches are open to students, who are not asked to bring anything, thus those of us who do bring things are asked to bring lots of whatever. I make enough chicken and rice for 8, even though it’s just 2 of us. Here’s my recipe, developed over years of experimentation:

Crock pot chicken and rice
5 cups chicken broth
1 can evaporated milk
1 can cream of mushroom soup
2 cups brown rice
2 teaspoons italian seasoning herbs stuff
Mix all this together in a big crockpot
On top of it, put 4 large boneless chicken breasts, cut into bite size chunks
Put on the lid, set the crock pot on low and cook for at least 8 hours and up to 10-12.
I put this on in the evening and let it cook all night. Then in the morning, I’ll turn it down to ‘warm’.
You can surely fancy it up by adding garlic, more herbs or even fresh ones, whatever. The evaporated milk makes the rice really creamy.

About rootietoot

I do what I can.
This entry was posted in church, food. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

