Get a move on!

There are so many things I used to hear as a child, when I was moving slower that my parents thought I should. “Get a move on!” and “up and at’ em!” and “shake a leg!”…stuff like that. I wasn’t lazy, I just didn’t move as quickly as they thought I should. I still don’t. howver, I do hear myself sometimes saying the same things to my kids. they aren’t lazy, they just don’t move as quickly as I think they should.

My days look kind of like this:
2 hours of frantic activity
7 hours of do whatever needs doing at my own pace.
7 hours of high paced activity with occasional moments of slow.

It works, but when something comes along and interferes with the system, I get a little cranky or tired or even upset. I don’t like systems to be messed with.

The other day, I had a usual Wednesday Thing. I meet with a group of ladies at a house for a couple of hours. Sometimes we eat lunch together, sometimes not. The one who’s house we meet at asked me to get there an hour early so we could go over something. Well, she’s a Talker. I am not. I am a Do-er. Talking exhausts me. I can Do and Do and Do all day long, and have something to show for it. but talking for a couple of hours requires so much energy of a sort that I don’t have, and by the end of the thing I was flat WORE OUT. Then another friend showed up, with a big casserole dish full of food that I wasn’t expecting, and that was like…Woah. She gave me food. delicous food, too. i never expected that to happen.

Anyway, I am supposed to meet with The Talker Friend again today, and I anticipate it will be interesting and fun, but also exhausting. I am preparing for this event by remaining in my bathrobe until the last possible moment. The phrases from my childhood are bouncing around in my head. “get a move on!” and while I don’t expect friends to show up with casseroles, there are plenty of leftovers in the fridge, in the event I don’t feel like cooking supper.

Hm. My coffee cup is empty and if I’m going to spend several hours with The Talker Friend, fortification will be required. Caffiene and a bagel, yes.

About rootietoot

I do what I can.
This entry was posted in Dewicate feewings, friends IRL, Good grief. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Get a move on!

  1. Jo says:

    Ha! My daughter’s seven and I chivvy her all day long with those phrases and more: “Pick up the pace” “Move it already”, etc. Worst of all is when it’s bedtime. I’ve never seen it take so long to brush teeth! After a while I start to feel bad. Why should she rush? What’s the big hurry? Sometimes I remember what it’s like to be a kid, but more of the time I don’t, unfortunately.

  2. jerseechik says:

    I strongly recommend throwing a chocolate biscotti in a sandwich bag and hiding it in the bottom of your purse. When you drive away from the Talker’s house, eat the biscotti. Endorphins and all that.

    • rootietoot says:

      excellent idea. I wound up spending the entre day with The Talker (who would be Peaches) and she convinced me to go to Savannah with her to get the sewing machine lady to show her how to put the ruffler on her sewing machine, then she decided that I needed a NEWER and FANCIER (ugh, srsly) machine than the one she gave me a week ago, so now that I’ve just about gotten that one figured out I have to learn another one. That will apparently plug into my computer and do embroidery. YIKES

Leave a Reply

