Sew what!

Yeah yeah, it’s All Sewing All The Time around here. The good news is that I might just have sold a piece- I had a big ol’ chunk of heavy twill sateen in a lovely royal blue…I am not sure where it came from…and decided yesterday to mess around with patterns and design, and now have a 1/2 finished Edwardian car coat. It’s an ankle length duster with big puffed sleeves and a wing collar that you can stand up to protect your lovely lawn summer dress from the inevitable grime of riding in your Model A Roadster to the Smythe-Hoyston’s afternoon garden party. And someone might want it! If it turns out they don’t, I can put it up on Ebay as Steampunk fashion. Another someone wants to commission a piece that looks like something he saw a cartoon character wearing. That’s doable as well. The good thing about all this is that I can take the money earned and turn in back into fabric and supplies. Which is huge amounts of fun.

I absolutely love making historic/period clothing. I don’t know why but it is so much more interesting and fun that contemporary stuff. I wish I were 20 again, for the simple reason that a 20 year old can get away with wearing something funky like that, far more than a 46 year old technical manager’s wife in a VERY small town where everyone knows you. If we lived in Atlanta I could get away with it, and simply be considered Artsy. If I tried to wear an ankle length Edwardian car coat around here, I’d be branded as “weird” and Terry’s reputation would suffer. And that stinks.

But holy cow, it was fun to get out the t-square, french curves, and chalk and draw on that royal blue sateen, plotting what to do next and how to go about it. Next time, and I am definitely going to make another coat like this, I’ll put insets in the skirt to make it fuller, and deep reverse pleats at the waist in the back seam to make room for a bustle, and probably reaaaally deep cuffs with buttons. Maybe even make it double breasted, almost military looking. Research says Steampunk (which I flamin’LOVE, I wish it had been around when I was 20 because I’d totally have been there) favors that military look with buttons and braids and such.

oh! And someone else wants to contract out some work to me, and since she’ll provide all the materials, all I have to invest is time. That will also provide a bit of scratch for buying fabrics 🙂

About rootietoot

I do what I can.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Sew what!

  1. jerseechik says:

    Make yourself a couple of Steampunk pieces, and we’ll go up to Atlanta next time you visit. I promise not to drool in envy over your superior wardrobe. Steampunk rocks! (or is that an oxymoron?)

    • rootietoot says:

      I will totally make a frock coat for you. Black, Navy or Khaki? Next time I’m up there I’ll try to remember the tape measure and notebook, and get your particulars.

Leave a Reply

