I’ve tried hard to keep unpleasant situations out of here. This place is as much about reminding myself of the good things as it is telling you-all about what’s going on in the Toot household. Honestly I don’t remember how much griping I’ve done about Terry’s job. I know there has been a lot of it in my head. His hours have been brutal- 12-14 hour days, 6-7 days a week, for the past 6 years. I KNOW I’ve griped about that.

But that’s all about to change. Due to events I won’t discuss, he has been moved from where he’s been for 6 years into another realm, a bigger realm with a broad scope that, however, will result in happy things like WEEKENDS OFF and NO PHONE CALLS in the middle of the night!

I cannot express adequately how happy this is making me. WEEKENDS OFF. What a concept. People take it for granted that they’ll have 2 days off every week, maybe not Saturday or Sunday, but 2 days somewhere in there. It hasn’t been that way here since 2005. He has had off 1 weekend a month, one day on 2 of the other weekends, and worked 14 days straight every. single. month. There have been periods where he’s worked 2 months straight with no days off. 12-14 hour days. He’s gone from Christmas to Easter with NO DAYS OFF.

So, to look at this new position, and to see that he is going to have off EVERY WEEKEND…well, you can see how that’s making me feel. Giddy, like Christmas and the 4th of July all rolled into one big glass of watermelon lemonade. With vodka.

We’ve talked about it, and he is going to take the first couple of WEEKENDS OFF, and indulge in egregious slackertude, with a hammock. I’m talking possibly not even GET DRESSED. Just boxers and a hammock. And I am fine with that!

Then he’ll be ready to do stuff, all that stuff that hasn’t gotten done in 6 years because he was tired and didn’t have the time. Moldings, a little cabinet for the bathroom, and dare I say…even…(I am scared to say it almost)… A HOBBY! Maybe he get back to playing golf with his sons! Maybe he’ll find him a 1957 Chevy truck that needs TLC and a new engine! Maybe some furniture for the house! WHO KNOWS! O the possibilities…

I could see him and me,driving the backroads, sitting close and complaining about the price of gas, drinking Cokes out of a glass bottle...

About rootietoot

I do what I can.
This entry was posted in Awesomeness, Hooray!, spouse. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to

  1. Michelle says:

    Wow, what great news!

  2. Bro. Scott says:

    Same employer?

  3. Have The T-shirt says:

    Very cool, I just love it when things work out well!

Leave a Reply

