Well of course I am…

I’m baking 3 large, flat loaves of focaccia this morning. I tried to make rolls yesterday, did in fact make hard little knotty things, so they got tossed and with fresh flour and yeast there are fragrant herbal loaves of focaccia that will get cut into squares and served alongside lasagna (made by someone else) for the Teachers Luncheon today. They have to be at the school in about 45 minutes, so will be nice and hot and tasty. This batch rose right.

While the bread is baking, I got the kitchen cleaned up. You know what annoys me? When I get the kitchen all shiny and neat, and then when my back is turned someone trots in a whole stack of dishes and piles them in the sink. I HATE THAT. When I clean up the kitchen I want it to stay that way until *I* am the one making the mess. It’s MY territory. MY PLACE. MINE. They all have their own rooms, and I don’t go into those rooms and throw shi…er…stuff around in them! is it too much to ask that, if they have a pile, put them in the dishwasher and if the dishwasher is full of clean dishes, why don’t they just go ahead and empty it and put the dirty dishes in then? I know, I have really unrealistic expectations, but one can fantasize, right? Right.

It just occurred to me that Will and CJ will most likely be showing up for lunch while I am at the Teachers Luncheon…I need to label some stuff in the fridge they can have…otherwise they’ll just tear through everything like a plague of locusts and leave me half a stick of celery to use for supper. Last night I made a bunch of chicken fried steak and mashed potatoes….they can have the leftovers from that.

While working on the bread, I was thinking about the luncheon, and social events in general. I remembered that I probably ought to put on some clothes other than the worn out sweat pants and stained t-shirt I’m in right now. They are so comfortable, and I am not the kind of person that these sort of Social Norms (like dress a little nicer when in public, and put the bread in a pretty basket instead of the huge utility bowl) don’t come to naturally. I am glad I thought of it, and that my khaki pants are clean. Normally it never occurs to me to put on something a little dressier until after I get there and realize everyone else looks put together and I don’t. *whew* minor psychological crisis averted. I kinda hope, tho, that enough people show up to help that I don’t have to stay. because I’d really rather not.

About rootietoot

I do what I can.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Well of course I am…

  1. JerseyChick says:

    For the second week in a row, I’m driving someone else’s kids to AWANA at the church we left 4 months ago. I hate to just drop them at the door, but I know if I go in, I’ll be swamped. And I hate the idea of changing out of my comfy clothes, which no one can see whilst I drive. Yep, I understand how you feel.

  2. OMG—how timely. The dishes in the sink thing has been a big theme in our house for the past two weeks. Almost daily I address these three guys with, “I’m not your servant!” and “Your arms aren’t broken!” LOL

    • rootietoot says:

      #4 suggested that I refuse to cook unless the kitchen is clean. I kind of like the idea, but I also like to cook.

      • Me too, but…I’ve got enough on my plate without having to play maid. This whole, “there’s a dish in the sink so I’m just going to pile my mess in there instead of looking to see if the dishwasher is empty” thing just has to stop. LOL

  3. I LOVE focaccia bread! I like a clean kitchen too, but you’re right, someone always goes behind me and messes it up. Yesterday it was my son putting (accidentally of course) dirt all over the counter. Yup. He left it there. I doubt he even noticed.

  4. Bella Rum says:

    love focaccia. lucky teachers.

Leave a Reply

