Let’s have a pity party…1…2…3…aawwwww

I am feeling sorry for myself. Oh sure, what I should be doing is looking at all the good things going on, and yes, there’s plenty of them. but that’s not what this post is about. I am feeling VERY sorry for myself because I am inconvenienced.

Yes. inconvenienced. When I get hungry at lunchtime, I want to crack open a can of tomato soup and make a grilled cheese sandwich with a couple of slices of American cheese in between 2 slices of plain old ordinary bread. Or, I want to go to McDonald’s and get a quarter pounder with cheese and a box of tasty salty fries. Or even have lunch with a friend and give it no second thought at all.

But…I can’t. (awwwwwwe) Too much salt. A can of soup has more than entire’s day allowance, and that’s even the low salt healthy choice stuff. forget American cheese, that’s completely out of the question. Restaurant food of any sort, except perhaps a salad bar, is not something I can have. Oh sure, I could get what I want, but then I’ll pay for it the next day with swollen hands and feet, a terrible thirst, and generally feeling yucky.

I JUST WANT TO EAT A CAN OF SOUP!

Having to constantly monitor everything I eat, carefully measuring and monitoring and evaluating, it’s a pain in the ass. I’m tired of it.

I want to be able to wear my wedding band without wondering if it will pinch off my finger, or slip on those shoes, and I want to wear them WHILE eating anything I want.

Ok, that’s all. I’ll go back to my salt-free culinary boredom.

Stupid kidneys.

About rootietoot

I do what I can.
This entry was posted in *whinge*, Dewicate feewings, Disease and infirmity. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Let’s have a pity party…1…2…3…aawwwww

  1. I yiyi, that’s no fun. Sorry you have to restrict your salt. It’s definitely hard to avoid and restaurants are of little help.
    Hang in there, xo jj

  2. Oh Golly Girlfriend, I feel your pain!! I’ve been taking these @!#$$ diuretics for the last couple of years because of my heart, and have had to restrict my salt as well.

    And there’s no way around it, Mrs. Dash bites ass!

    • rootietoot says:

      I try to like Mrs Dash. Really I do. It’s not bad on eggs. But yeah…it kinda bites. Lemon juive and vinegar can substitute sometimes, but not in spaghetti sauce or or vegetable soup (homemade of course, because opening a can is Not Safe)

  3. Bella Rum says:

    I had lunch at Ruby Tuesday’s the other day, and I was thirsty all afternoon. Restaurants put so much salt in their food, and if I eat it in the evening, I wake in the middle of the night – so thirsty.

    Love, love tomato soup and it is loaded with it. As for cheese, I told H yesterday that if I could choose one food that I could eat with abandon with no deleterious effects, it would be cheese.

    • rootietoot says:

      and you really can’t replace a can of Campbells Tomato Soup with anything. I tried making homemade and it wasn’t the same. Not to mention the stupid EFFORT of making it.

      • I’ve been able to come up with a reasonable substitute by pureeing low-sodium canned tomatoes with whole milk (instead of cream), adding a little parm and a small chunk of cream cheese. Then heat it up. It makes a pretty good tomato bisque. Not a lot of effort and the guys seem to like it.

        I miss movie popcorn.

      • rootietoot says:

        Oh..that sounds pretty good! Thanks! And it wouldn’t take too long, either. Hm.

Leave a Reply

