*dusts hands*

There, except for a pile of clothes and stuff for Terry to go though, the bedroom looks like a Designed to Sell “after” picture. 2 big bags of stuff to go to Goodwill- clothes and shoes I haven’t worn in a couple of years, one garbage bag of…y’know…GARBAGE. All my scarves hung on the little rack in the closet instead of piled in a corner. AND FINALLY i got a bedspread that looks right with our contemporary furniture, and actually goes with the existing curtains! how often does *that* happen?! NOT TOO VERY, that’s for sure! I chose a bedspread that’s narrow stripes of all sorts of muted colors, predominately varying shades of blue but with camel tones and a bit of dark red here and there. With the oak floors and oak furniture it actually looks nice! i am generally terrible at putting stuff together like that. If I had done exactly what I thought of doing at first, that is,get a quilt that I liked, it would have been all wrong with the very modern furniture, but for some reason I had a bit of (what the kids call) a brain fart, and chose this striped thing instead. Whadyaknow. It works. AND it goes well with existing shams and linens. AND it’s a full to the floor bedspread so there’s no fooling with a bedskirt. AND it matches the gold and burgundy curtains. AND the paintings on the walls.

We’ve never actually had a ‘put together’ bedroom before. It’s always been the lowest on the list of ‘make nice’ because no one ever sees it but Terry and me, but I have always wanted to have a pretty room. It still needs a coat of paint, and that will come soon. And there’s some cracks in the wall from general second floor settling of a 45 year old house. Spackle and paint will take care of that.

I wonder if Terry would consent to putting 2 of his humidors onto the shelf in his closet, to declutter the top of his dresser. Hm. That’s a hard one to call.

and now I’m all dust clogged!

About rootietoot

I do what I can.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to *dusts hands*

  1. Maybe everything will look so good that you’ll decide to stay! LOL

  2. Bella Rum says:

    I like those full to the floor bedspreads. It’s not that I don’t like the bed skirts, but it’s nice not to have to bother with them.

    I wish I had oak floors in my bedroom. Yes, I do.
    Bella

Leave a Reply

