a couple of conclusions

Amarillo, for a big town, is kinda pokey, with elements of humor. I didn’t have my camera with me, so you’ll have to take my word for it, but last night as I came off 1-40 into Washington Street, at the Dairy Queen right there at the intersection…there in the parking lot next to the usual cars and pickup trucks were 2 horses and 2 ponys. Saddled up and just standing there while, I suppose, their owners were inside enjoying a Friday evening peanut buster parfait. No lie, and no pictures.

Everything in Texas is All About Texas. This entire state has a massive ego, or else a helluvan inferiority complex and overcompensates. TEXAS! IT’S TEXAS! SEE! LONE STAR! TEXAS SHAPED SINK BOWLS! TEXAS SHAPED WAFFLE IRONS! MORE LONE STARS! BIGGEST FLAG IN AMARILLO! NO! MY FLAG’S BIGGER! MINE IS! WELL MY BRONZE LONE STAR ON THE SIDE OF MY HOUSE IS BIGGER! OH YEAH?! I GOTTA TEXAS SHAPED BATHTUB! MINE’S BIGGER!

I bet you thought I was kidding.

Good grief. Georgia is 350 years old. It has Savannah and Old River Road and Madison. John Wesley first set foot in the USA at Fort Pulaski. And I haven’t seen a single Georgia shaped sink bowl or bronze Georgia Seal on the side of someone’s house, nor is there a Georgia Edition Chevy Silverado. There’s a Texas Edition tho. IT’S BIGGER.

The Ladies at Grandmother’s facility have been very gracious, except during Full Contact Dominoes. Never play 42 with a group of nonegenarians. They’re merciless and you’ll lose. And they bet, so you’ll lose more than just your youthful pride and arrogance. Don’t even get me started about Bingo. Or the 25 yard demolition derby (wheelchair version) on the way to supper. Do NOT get in the way of any woman who has a horn on her wheelchair. Not Prudent.

And if you think I’m saying all this in that “aren’t they just the sweetest old dears” condescending way people get around old folks, think again. Some of them, yeah, are old dears with the minds of little kids and just happy that you noticed them,but most of them would just as soon run over your foot and clobber you with the 800 page hardbound Mario Puzo novel in their basket as look at you. They might move slower but there’s nothing wrong with the way they think and cutthroat 42 taught me that in a hurry. I’m still whimpering.

About rootietoot

I do what I can.
This entry was posted in I see old people. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to a couple of conclusions

  1. elancee says:

    Trying not to snort, laughing out loud. Too funny!

Leave a Reply

