Order among chaos or beauty is in the eye of the beholder

#4 will be 12 at the end of the month. In many ways he’s a typical 12 year old with his fondness for body-generated music and aroma, messes (“I like to see all my stuff!”). and movies with explosions (most recently The A-Team).

However, he also loves order. He is very precise when he sets the table for dinner: napkin folded just so, drink glass placed precisely, knife and fork inevitably backwards from the standard, but he’s left handed so I don’t worry about it.

He has an appreciation for beauty, bringing me flowers from the front yard (dandelions) or the back (camellias), or wanting a specific quilt on his bed, because it matches the sheets and curtains.

Yesterday he was playing messing around (I forget sometimes that 12 yr olds don’t “play”, they “mess around”) with his legos on the coffee table, and created this charming tableau and offered a brief dissertation of the juxtaposition of form,function, beauty and utility, and how it is possible to find comfort and peace amongst such disparate ingredients.

Oh. And that’s not dust on the coffee table. That’s pine pollen. (that’s my story and I’m stickin’ to it)

About rootietoot

I do what I can.
This entry was posted in home and hearth, kids. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Order among chaos or beauty is in the eye of the beholder

  1. Bella Rum says:

    Who knows what he’ll grow up to be: an artist or an engineer… a four-star General or a hairdresser? We never know, but not a lawyer, please.

  2. Your son sounds awesome! My son is eleven and he LOVES legos. My husband just took him out to buy some organizers for his legos. I’ve wondered how long they will amuse him. I think it will be for a long time.
    -FringeGirl

  3. Kathryn Lookofsky says:

    I love this picture! =)

Leave a Reply

