Sounds good to me!

So, I have this friend on Facebook. I knew her in high school and we did that whole reconnection thing. Anyway, her mother has this happy philosophy that once a woman turns A Certain Age, birthdays should be celebrated every month. Now, it’s not the “give me lots of presents” celebration, but that one day a month (hers is the 21st) one should eat ice cream for lunch and do as one pleases the entire day.

I’m thinking an appropriate time to start would be when I turn 50, about 25 year about 4 years from now. Think of it, set aside 1 day a month to celebrate that you’re still living. I would have a Dairy Queen chocolate dip cone,or perhaps a Baskin Robins Jamoca Almond Fudge on a sugar cone. Or maybe, if it’s a warm day, a Chik Fil A lemonade. I wonder what Mom would do if I started sending her a birthday card on the 20th of every month, or flowers every 4th month, or a couon for lunch at Olive Garden…hm.

Is there a woman in your life that you’d love to celebrate the simple fact that she’s still alive?

About rootietoot

I do what I can.
This entry was posted in family, friends IRL, friends online, Hooray!. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Sounds good to me!

  1. JerseyChick says:

    Child, your families lives into their hundreds- starting at 50 would be a bit early, yes?

    I do like your idea of sending one’s mom a card monthly to celebrate her life!! I’m trying to get my mom to plan something for her 90th- 5 years from now- so she’ll quit with her energy-draining “I’m ready To Go” litany…

  2. Bella Rum says:

    One of the best ideas I’ve heard.

Leave a Reply

