Pen to paper

Today, I NEED to get to Prayer Group. I need the perspective that The Ladies can give me, to hear them say “oh my son did that and survived” or “well at least he came clean and everyone’s alive, right” but thanks to this cold, and Ms Jenny’s 85 year old precarious health self, I’m not going. With the way things seem to be these days, I’d give her pneumonia and she’d die. Plus I sound like a 45 year old 3-pack a day for 30 years smoker,with that deep gravelly voice and hacking up a lung every 10 minutes. While I am certain God would recognize my voice, I’m not sure I would.

So instead, I’m going to spend the day writing letters. (woah…where did that come from?) Since the advent of email, the fine art of the handwritten letter has slowly disappeared,and I don’t know a single person who doesn’t love to get a handwritten letter in the mail,especially one that isn’t asking for something. Hopefully…well I am pretty sure they will…the recipients will understand that my stationary leans toward the Wide-ruled notebook paper, because lines are needed to stay neat and it’s what’s available.

I love writing. It puts thoughts in order, helps to clarify ideas and such. You can edit writing, when editing spoken words is more difficult. If your idea comes out wrong in writing, there’s the satisfaction of erasing the words,or balling up the paper and throwing it away. Try doing that with something coming out of your mouth.

So, instead of watching TV or fiddling on the computer, I am going to sit at my desk (a beautiful small Mission oak roll-top, found in a barn covered with chicken poop and carefully restored to beauty 50 years ago) with notebook paper and pen, and write. Who knows what will come out? Encouragement I hope, commiseration for sure. A trip to the post office is in order, because there’s only 1 stamp left.

About rootietoot

I do what I can.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Pen to paper

  1. JerseyChick says:

    Your note in my suitcase made me smile. It encouraged me a lot. Keep up the writing!

  2. Bella Rum says:

    You’re right. Everyone loves to receive a handwritten note. It’s such an easy thing to do, yet it seems to be a bygone practice. Dad loves his mail more than his kids. I swear.

    Hope you’re feeling better by now.
    Bella

Leave a Reply

