Plans

I has them.
I’ve made reservations and purchased tickets and stuff to go see my grandmother in Texas the middle of March. Terry has a long weekend then, so I’m a-flyin’ out to visit her. She’s 98 and in a (very nice,quite comfortable, but still not like living with family) nursing home. I miss her, and wish she could come here, but she’s lived all her life there, and the idea of moving away from a familiar place makes her nervous. so instead, I go to see her whenever I can.

This summer Terry and I will celebrate our 25th anniversary. can you believe that? Here we are, 29 and 30 years old, with a 25th anniversary coming up. Time flies, eh. The past 25 years have been interesting,for sure. I can’t say ‘never a dull moment’ because there have been plenty of those, but plenty of excitement as well. Anyway, in honor of that anniversary, we want to take another trip. 2 years ago we drove a bit of Route 66, from Amarillo TX to Joplin, MO. Now we want to run up the interstate to Joplin, and drive the bit from there to Chicago, take in the strange and…peculiar (I almost said wonderful…but peculiar is more apropos) sites, and then amble down some roads from Chicago to back home. Plans are in the making. Stops are being considered. Last time we tried to be all spontaneous and not make hotel reservations along the way, and that made both of us very nervous. So, this time we’re going to make them, with the understanding that as long as we call before 4pm, we can cancel them. At least that way we’ll eliminate one source of nerves. Money is being set aside for the trip, frequent visits to various websites are being made, plans plans. Half the fun of a trip like this is the planning.

Man alive….25 years married. I’ve been married since I was 4 years old. Had my first child when I was 6. Amazing.

About rootietoot

I do what I can.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Plans

  1. How great for you and your grandmother. It sounds like your visit will be a real treat.

    And your 25th Anniversary Road Trip– Woo-hoo! Enjoy the planning and be sure to bring your ID so you can share some champagne πŸ˜‰

    Cheers, jj

  2. Bella Rum says:

    Hope you find your grandmother well. I know she’ll enjoy seeing you.

    We’re hoping to go to Chicago soon. It will be a short trip to see my son and his family. They’ll only be there till the end of April. I’ve never been to Chicago and H has only gone on business, so it should be fun. I wish we could have waited a tad longer to ensure warmer weather, but…

Leave a Reply

