The way of the world

Terry and I talk about this alot. What are we going to do when the boys are all married, and it’s Christmas? The way of the world seems to be that married people spend holidays with the wife’s parents. Right now it’s not an issue but I know one day before too long there will be Christmases where it’s just the 2 of us. Truth? I am kind of looking forward to it.

Not in that “UGH I’m so tired of company at Christmas” kind of way, because that’s not it at all. I enjoy the company. I love the preparations and cooking and general hanging-out with everyone. But I can look ahead and foresee a Christmas of the 2 of us in a cabin at Unicoi Park up in the Smoky Mountains, or at Callaway Gardens. Or even simply at home, with a cornish hens and wild rice for dinner, and a couple of gifts under the tree instead of the heaps and heaps. I’m ok with that.

We’ll make phone calls to everyone, maybe talk with grandkids if there are any,and sit around and watch football or old movies and just….be.

With 4 kids, maybe they’ll work out some kind of rotation amongst them, maybe once in a while they’ll all be *here*. Terry says if that happens, we’ll get hotel rooms for the adults and have the kids here. AND we’ll PAY for the hotel rooms, too. My parents are notorious for getting us a room,or inviting us to a restaurant, or to the Callaway Gardens Light Show,and then having us pay for it…Terry is appalled by that and thinks if you invite someone somewhere, then the invitor pays for it. Period. It’s not that he’s cheap and doesn’t want to pay for it, it’s just that he’s old school and thinks…y’know…*that*.

So anyway…Yes, Christmas is supposed to be all about family,I guess, but Terry and I are family,too, and I am not nervous about the prospect of being alone with him for Christmas.

Now, a bit ago,Terry announced *PLANS* that meant my parents couldn’t come for a couple of days starting today. I’m going to say this and that’s all I’m going to say. Yes, He (and we) Have Plans. They are going to be fun, and very,very personal. now that I know what they are, I understand why ‘no parents’. And that’s all I’ve got to say about that.

About rootietoot

I do what I can.
This entry was posted in Holidays!. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The way of the world

  1. Bella Rum says:

    It’s interesting to think of those future Christmases. I know two things for sure. It’s impossible to predict and things change. It seems like life goes along in the same old way, and it seems like it will be that way forever. Then, suddenly, everything changes overnight. It’s good that you’re willing to be flexible.

    I have a feeling you’ll both enjoy Terry’s plans!!!

Leave a Reply

